We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveler rating
552
29
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
552
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred squirrelsturret roomhomemade shortbreadlake districtextensive groundscountry house hotelcourse dinneroutstanding foodthis wonderful hoteldog friendly hotelpetit foursnothing is too much troubleafternoon tealarge bathroomregular visitorsfresh milklittle extras
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 594 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Absolutely delightful place. Huge rooms with everything provided. So comfortable and delightful gardens to walk through. Food was top quality and more than plentiful. Only criticism is it is a dog friendly hotel and my partner is allergic to dog & cat hair, but otherwise faultless. highly recommend for a romantic weekend away or with kids - lots to do around here.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

My Wife and I are very lucky to live only a short drive from this very special place. We first discovered Overwater 15 years ago, and stayed for a night just before our daughter was born. We fell in love with Overwater then, and we have returned regularly ever since. The hotel is, nestled in an unspoilt valley surrounded by the magnificent Lakeland fells.
Once there, you are welcomed into a tranquil world without traffic noise, street lights and mobile phones (no signal, blissful). The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, without being ostentatious, the refurbished bathrooms are fantastic. For the very brave, one room even has a resident ghost. (Book "room three" if you dare! )
Dinning at Overwater is a true experience, after being coxed away from the roaring log fire in the lounge; you sit down in the dinning room to a feast of local produce lovingly prepared by Head Chef and co- owner, Adrian. The food is to die for! The service is exemplary! The wine is superb. Forget all those self- important celebrity chefs and their fantastically expensive restaurants; this is how really good food should taste. Then it’s back to the lounge for coffee and handmade chocolates, to relax in front of the dying embers of the fire, before heading up the wide sweeping staircase for a wonderful nights sleep.
After waking to only the sound of the birds and the sheep in the fields (no traffic, remember!) It down the stairs again for breakfast with local bacon, sausage and real black pudding. Another treat!
Staying Overwater really is a magical and wonderful experience. Nothing is too much trouble for Adrian, Angela, Stephen and their dedicated staff. We go and stay every opportunity we get, and it never disappoints.
Overwater is everything a Lakeland Country House Hotel should be, and it really is as close to perfection as you'll ever find.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cumberland-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Excellent service from dedicated owner managers. The rooms are comfortable and well equpped, the public rooms are equally comfortable and the dining is quite exceptional. This is not for travellers who feel that a gym, jacuzzi, health spa or beauty treatment is essential.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

As always a great place to go to unwind. Our favourite hotel, nicely off the beaten track in great countryside, the food is always first class & the rooms comfortable & roomy. Bathroooms always clean & dog friendly as well.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOESs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed for Valentines weekend and it was the very best weekend away we have ever had . The whole experience can only be described as magical . After a long drive we were greeted by a lovely gentleman who carried our luggage to our room .The room was beautiful with fresh flowers and fruit and a bathroom so big that you could get lost in it !! - and that was a standard room ! .All the staff are very helpful ,professional and polite and you get the feeling that you are a welcome guest not a customer or a tourist .
Breakfast was just perfect and the muesli was the best I ever tasted .
We had dinner on the Saturday night and it was certainly not the sort of dinner you could ever hope to cook at home !! - It was a work of art and a joy to eat .
The highlight was the after dinner coffee and chocolates served in the drawing room - I could easily get used to living like that !!
Overwater Hall is not just a hotel , its is time travel to an age of elegance and sophistication one usulally only sees in the movies
Staying there is a truely wonderful experience and I cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews