We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveler rating
555
29
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
555
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels turret room homemade shortbread lake district extensive grounds country house hotel course dinner outstanding food this wonderful hotel dog friendly hotel petit fours nothing is too much trouble afternoon tea home made large bathroom regular visitors fresh milk
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 597 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Title says it all!

Sadly had 2 out of 4 day stay in rain but this didn't spoil our visit!

Had turret room which was fab - lots of attention to detail - dressing gowns in room, lovely toiletries etc -home made biscuits - yummy!

The food is to die for ! Menu options changed every night (at least two courses) so always something different ona our 4 night stay.

Sticky toffee pudding and beef Wellington an absolute joy!

Lovely, attentive hosts, Stephen and Angela and nothing was too much trouble.

We will book again - a real hidden gem!

Thanks to you all for a lovely, memorable stay!

Room Tip: We hd a turret room which was beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACK43York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have never before felt compelled to write a review on any hotel despite travelling the globe on business and pleasure.

From booking through to checkout the quality, attention to detail and warmth of the Overwater Hall "family" was outstanding. Special thanks to Luke and to Adrian, Angela and Stephen for making our welcome and stay wonderful.

The food and stimulating conversation in the snug will live long in the memory.

Massive thanks guys, will see you again soon.

John & Kim

Room Tip: The turret rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCassidy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Super hospitality and food... decor fits well with the hotel... rooms are classic and well thought out with quality fittings ... Ideal for dog owners as the hotel seems to welcome canine visitors... meals are first class with very attentive service ... Hotel ideal for a quite stay.... The hotel is on the expensive side for what it is ...so make it a special occasion

Room Tip: go for a room at the front
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from Scotland. Wonderful welcome, it was lovely to know our little dog was genuinely welcome. Nothing too much trouble. The staff are all very professional, the food outstanding and the bathrooms just wonderful!! Cannot fault this Hotel and will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: All rooms are different but all have lovely refurbished bathrooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I plus our two dogs have just spent a week at a lodge ( third time ) at Skiddaw View Holiday Park , which is close to Overwater Hall. We have stayed at Overwater Hall (See previous review) and both myself and my partner think that this has got to be one of the finest hotels in the Lake District. Anyway, we decided to book an evening meal on the Wednesday evening as a mid way through our holiday treat. A chance to get scrubbed up , dressed accordingly and enjoy a fine dining experience..
The meal was incredible as was the whole experience.
Angela , Adrian and of course Stephen cannot do enough for the guests , and believe me, your experience wil be memorable -for all the right reasons..
We promised Angela that we will return for another stay at the hotel very soon- with both our dogs!
Cannot say enough good things about the hotel and its wonderfull owners and staff.
Roy& Debbie

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RoystonBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews