We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent high quality”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistent high quality”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thank you for another beautiful stay,5 STAR food the best taste of the sea you could ever have as a starter, my husband had Lobster Thermadore for a mains divine tastes all around.
Lovely to see it all in the sunshine looking stunning around the gardens
Angela managed to find a wonderful room for our neibours to join us on our second night ther first trip but not there last.
Overwater is kept right up to date with decor and a warm welcome is given to every one and there dogs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    25
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
377
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
YORK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Title says it all!

Sadly had 2 out of 4 day stay in rain but this didn't spoil our visit!

Had turret room which was fab - lots of attention to detail - dressing gowns in room, lovely toiletries etc -home made biscuits - yummy!

The food is to die for ! Menu options changed every night (at least two courses) so always something different ona our 4 night stay.

Sticky toffee pudding and beef Wellington an absolute joy!

Lovely, attentive hosts, Stephen and Angela and nothing was too much trouble.

We will book again - a real hidden gem!

Thanks to you all for a lovely, memorable stay!

Room Tip: We hd a turret room which was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACK43York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have never before felt compelled to write a review on any hotel despite travelling the globe on business and pleasure.

From booking through to checkout the quality, attention to detail and warmth of the Overwater Hall "family" was outstanding. Special thanks to Luke and to Adrian, Angela and Stephen for making our welcome and stay wonderful.

The food and stimulating conversation in the snug will live long in the memory.

Massive thanks guys, will see you again soon.

John & Kim

Room Tip: The turret rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCassidy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay on Wye
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Super hospitality and food... decor fits well with the hotel... rooms are classic and well thought out with quality fittings ... Ideal for dog owners as the hotel seems to welcome canine visitors... meals are first class with very attentive service ... Hotel ideal for a quite stay.... The hotel is on the expensive side for what it is ...so make it a special occasion

Room Tip: go for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from Scotland. Wonderful welcome, it was lovely to know our little dog was genuinely welcome. Nothing too much trouble. The staff are all very professional, the food outstanding and the bathrooms just wonderful!! Cannot fault this Hotel and will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: All rooms are different but all have lovely refurbished bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I plus our two dogs have just spent a week at a lodge ( third time ) at Skiddaw View Holiday Park , which is close to Overwater Hall. We have stayed at Overwater Hall (See previous review) and both myself and my partner think that this has got to be one of the finest hotels in the Lake District. Anyway, we decided to book an evening meal on the Wednesday evening as a mid way through our holiday treat. A chance to get scrubbed up , dressed accordingly and enjoy a fine dining experience..
The meal was incredible as was the whole experience.
Angela , Adrian and of course Stephen cannot do enough for the guests , and believe me, your experience wil be memorable -for all the right reasons..
We promised Angela that we will return for another stay at the hotel very soon- with both our dogs!
Cannot say enough good things about the hotel and its wonderfull owners and staff.
Roy& Debbie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoystonBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Overwater Hall and very much appreciated the attentive management and staff, the high quality of food and comfort all set within a luxurious and relaxing environment, topped off by the wonderful natural setting and surroundings in which the hotel is situated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
470 reviews
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
987 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing