We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overwater Hall
Nearby Hotels
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
$166
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
543
29
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
543
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred squirrelsturret roomhomemade shortbreadlake districtextensive groundsoutstanding foodcourse dinnerthis wonderful hoteldog friendly hotelafternoon teahome madepetit foursnothing is too much troublelarge bathroomregular visitorsfresh milklittle extras
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 585 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is a gem. We spend a lot of our time in nearby Uldale so Overwater Hall is very close. We have been very impressed with the beautiful, creative yet classic style of the restaurant. You are greeted by name as you arrive and nothing is too much trouble. We would always recommend Overwater Hall! Looking forward to visiting in 2013!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDS5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Overwater Hall never disappoints, the service, rooms, location and the food... Oh the food, just spectacular. The a la carte choices are all locally sourced and without exception beautifully prepared. Together with a great wine list you will not be disappointed. We have stayed in rooms 3 and 6 and both have fabulous views. Can't wait to go back Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the moment we stepped out of our car we were looked after by Stephen, Angela and Adrian. On arrival we had a bottle of champagne on ice on the lawns overlooking the beautiful gardens.
The entire house has an old charm about it retaining period features whilst having all the amenities anyone could need. Wi fi in the bedrooms and no phone signal was a blessing.
Breakfast was fresh and lots to choose from, dinner of a five star service in an intimate setting. The staff were aware we were on honeymoon and gave us a window seat on the first night.
After returning from our long walks Stephen greeted us with cold water and beers, just what we needed it was 30 degress!
The gardens of the manor house were delightful. overlooking fields for miles, little rivers running through the woodland. Each morning we woke to red squirels climbing trees outside our bedroom window and the sounds of sheep and birds.
On returning home a letter was awaiting us wishing us well for our married lives together and asked how the rest of our honeymoon in had been.
Simply stunning, we cannot wait to return for another break on our anniversary. One couple we met have been going every year since there honeymoon over 30 years ago.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicJSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights; we booked after reading other's reviews and we were not disappointed. it is a charming hotel, elegant, beautifully appointed, super public rooms downstairs and a great bedroom upstairs. We didnt have dinner in but breakfast was excellent, limited choice but well presented and nicely cooked. It is well worth taking a walk round the grounds - the gardens are lovely! Its not cheap to stay but its not often you find such a nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GulliverT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Overwater a number of years ago and returned in March this year. We had such a special time, that we rebooked and stayed again in September for yet another 4 nights indulgence. The food is totally masterchef quality so 4 nights is absolute maximum!

This hotel has its own charm and character with guests who return year on year. It has that personal touch which larger hotels cannot offer. Dinner is so relaxing with no mobile phone signal.

It is totally dog friendly and set in lovely grounds to explore and see the deer or red squirrels.

Stephen, Angela and Adrian are so proud of their hotel and quite rightly so.

Room Tip: The turret rooms are special with 4 huge windows. Some rooms have a separate sitting area but all are individually lovely
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltesered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews