We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to impress”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've been to Overwater a few times and find it difficult to believe that they can get better every time but they do. There are so many little touches that make this place my favourite hotel. The staff, the food, the personal attention to detail in everything just cannot be matched anywhere else. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The turret rooms are quite superb
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleverclogscomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Overwater Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 542 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have thought long and hard about writing this review. We went to Overwater solely as a result of it's excellent TA reviews and came away somewhat disappointed. I had originally decided not to write a review as the staff and managers did seem to try very hard indeed and I did not want to put a dampener on their efforts. However, having just read the latest review from Tonyuke and re read the other headlines 'Hidden Treasure' and 'Heaven on Earth' I felt I should say that there is another point of view. To be fair to Overwater this is not our first slightly disappointing experience at a so called 'country house hotel' so maybe we should just avoid the category in the future.

Overwater is pleasant, the people seemed lovely but personally there is also a slightly depressing and heavy feel to the place. Others may disagree. It was mid winter and very cold outside after all. We have used the expression 'Heaven on Earth' ourselves in a previous review and Overwater for us is simply not in the Heaven on Earth league. We stayed for one night only rather than the four nights originally intended due to a change of plan.

On arrival we were greeted by the splendid Luke who really is a wonderfully attentive host, as good as it gets in fact. We were shown to a room at the rear of the hotel which was disappointingly small and somewhat drab more boarding house than hotel. I enquired about a change of room and we were offered room 4 at the front of the hotel which was a slight improvement but still rather disappointingly dull and on the small side. The bathroom though was excellent.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent meals and the service was impeccable.

When I explained to Angela that we would be leaving early due to a change of plan she was genuinely most concerned that our decision was not in any way the fault of the hotel and to be fair it wasn't. A generously sized bedroom with a touch of opulence when on holiday is important to us and I should have made that clear when I made the reservation rather than relying on assumptions as a result of the splendid reviews.

When it came to paying the bill Angela explained that she would have to charge us for the weekend we had booked as the hotel was full but would provide a refund if she resold the room. It is now Saturday afternoon and I await further news on this.

Our score of 'average' is too low but I could not quite get myself to say 'very good.' Overwater Hall is a good hotel but for us not quite as good as the other reviews suggest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank HarryIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overwater, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Naturally we are disappointed that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. In truth, we cannot expect to be all things to all people, but happily we continue to delight more people than we disappoint.
Kind regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

A visit to Overwater Hall is quite an adventure. First you have to find it, then explore the delights of your room, then scale the heights of the menu.
The Grade II listed building is well tucked away but our SatNav found it okay. Luke, the ever-attendant manager opened the front door and remained a model of courtesy throughout our stay. (He was a finalist for the Cumbria Tourism Outstanding Customer Service Award.)
It was winter outside but our Turret Room was warm. The bathroom had tub and shower and a cabinet of toiletries. A separate lounge housed the smart TV, kettle and choice of teas. Pat spotted a mini decanter of fruit liquor with note saying ‘Nightcap’. We couldn’t wait and had a sip... lovely!
Our pre-dinner drink in the bar included canapés brought by hostess Angela. Then it was menu time. Surprise! There was a fish course (with fish knives!). Then choices too hard to make. Chef Adrian cooks with passion and a magic wand – his sauces beguile. The culinary artistry has to be tasted to be believed. The team were 2011 finalists for the Taste of Cumbria Award. The four-course dinners are legendary matched by the sumptuous dining room. We were glad we dressed for dinner.
Dog owners are invited to treat their canine companions to a well-deserved mini-break at this dog’s paradise. Guests can bring their dog at no extra cost and the lounge and bar areas are dog-friendly. There is even a dog sitting service available, along with the Dog of the Day website of fame.
Stephen Bore, and Angela and Adrian Hyde, bought this magnificent Georgian mansion in 1992 and spent 18 years refurbishing it, preserving the historic ambience with a clever mix of traditional and contemporary style (Wi-Fi throughout). The end result is tasteful, colourful and refined.
The hotel was voted Small Hotel of the Year twice – winners of the Northwest of England Award and the Cumbria Tourism Award 2010.
Overwater Hall is set in 18 acres of gardens and woodland with the dramatic backdrop of Skiddaw and the Uldale Fells. It’s a short hop to Keswick and Bassenthwaite Lake, the ideal base for a relaxing stay in peaceful surroundings. It dates back to 1814 and still has that gentry feel about it. It’s at the end of a lonely road yet it’s a treasure worth finding. The food is to live for – and the rooms are to vie for.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We found the Overwater Hotel quite by chance on the internet and were unsure what to expect. We booked for a family birthday party (eight of us) and so fingers were crossed! Everything was perfect and met our hopes and more. A wonderful quiet location surrounded by lovely countryside and views and a real gem of a hotel! Attentive but not intrusive service from all the staff who were very friendly and welcoming; very comfortable spacious rooms; cosy sitting areas; interesting wines and the most delicious local food served very attractively. Red squirrel played at the windows as we opened presents. Perfect! We could not fault anything and can't wait to return! We are delighted with our find!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie_Say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Overwater Hall has become a very firm favourite with my wife and I having recently returned from another wonderful New Year's Eve houseparty. It is an oasis of calm and the perfect antidote for stress. The staff are the most caring and helpful you will meet anywhere and the owners treat you like one of the family. Food is of the highest quality possible and is consistently a delight to partake of...we always go down to dinner salivating at the prospect of what might be on the menu which exudes thoughtful variation and the very best of ingredients. We cannot wait until we return to what we honestly believe to be our very own 'little bit of heaven on earth'!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterAnnJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Bit confused about some of the previous reviews, at one stage we though people might have reviewed the wrong hotel!

Firstly, the Hotel is a bit remote with no mobile signal (perfect if you want peace and quiet), although they do have free wifi which is handy for emails. You can get a signal at the top of the read (about 200 meters away, if you are really desperate). Having said that, Keswick is a 15 minute drive away, so it is a perfect base for exploring the Lakes.

Inside the décor is tasteful and in keeping with the overall appearance of the Hotel, with plenty of seating areas and in the sitting room, a real coal fire (not a simulated gas one). The Bar is very nice and the dining room is lovely.

Moving on to the Bedroom, we stayed in one of the turret rooms, with a four poster bed and an enormous bathroom with a huge bath and separate shower. The room was spotless with all the usual accessories you would expect such as hairdryer, ironing board, TV, Coffee & Tea, etc. and the bed was very comfortable.

I do have to say that the one thing that puts Overwater Hall ahead of the rest is the dining. It was simply amazing, not only did we have an excellent choice, but the quality, presentation and service was faultless, and I really do mean faultless. I have eaten at many places around the world and Overwater has got to rate in the top 5 for sure.

On a parting note, all of the staff were very relaxed, attentive but not overbearing and we truly enjoyed our visit and hope to return again.

A prefect retreat for couples and families, either with or without dogs.

Room Tip: Four Poster Turret Room is perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Angela, Adrian & Stephen go to great lengths to ensure that their guests have a wonderful stay at Overwater Hall. The hotel is set within stunning grounds, the rooms are spacious and welcoming, the service second to none and the food simply amazing. If you are thinking of spending a few days in the lakes, Overwater Hall would be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: There is an excellent ground floor room for anyone with walking difficulties or with a dog. Rooms 8...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13hastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,135 reviews
20.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: $192 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing