We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
146
30
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
146
30
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath open fire four poster saturday evening warm welcome relaxing weekend owners and staff excellent hotel king room lake district muncaster castle last minute great conference facilities old house conference room excellent meal breakfast was absolutely delicious
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 181 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

From the very warm welcome and the excellent service this was a wonderful way to spend a quiet few days away from it all. The bedroom had wonderful views and a very comfortable bed. The evening meal and breakfast were 1st class and the service by the staff was very friendly and informative.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank 19IZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

My husband and I had both stayed here many times some 16 years ago when on business in the area. We had always liked the place and so decided to return to spend a few days around our Golden Wedding day for nostalgia’s sake. We were not disappointed. The new owners (well they have been there for 14 years) continued the tradition we remembered of offering a warm welcome, a feeling of being one of the family combined with a professional approach to the business. We were given an upgrade to the room with the four-poster bed as it was a special weekend. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well. Everywhere was beautifully decorated in keeping with the age and elegance of the house but with a very modern feel.

The food is superb and the drinks generous. However, the prices are very reasonable and the bar very warm and comfortable with an open fire.

The place is easy to find and the car parking ample. The internet access was good with no need to log on every day.

We shall be going back again and it will not be 16 years till we return.

I would give more stars if I could.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra A, Owner at Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Wow - what a wonderful review.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback following your stay with us. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt at home. We do hope that it won't be 16 years before we see you again, as we thoroughly enjoyed your company too.

Take care and hope to see you soon.

Debra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

What a cracking little gem of a place.
A last minute decision to look for somewhere to eat out.
Debra was so welcoming and has just the best sense of humour, she looked after us very well. The young waitress was also extremely pleasant and efficient throughout.
We enjoyed it so much we booked again for valentines day.
The meals were outstanding and very reasonably priced. They were presented beautifully.
Already looking forward to going back if only for the banter with Debra
See you soon x

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra A, Owner at Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Hi Rue L

Thank you so much for such a special review. We really appreciate the time you took in writing the review but more importantly, we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us.

It was lovely to meet you both and we are really looking forward to seeing you again soon - hope I can keep you equally amused!!!

See you soon

Debra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Lovely friendly hotel. Very warm & comfortable. Nice people & great breakfast.

Rooms are equally comfortable but we were very warm in bed & had to take the duvet off.

Restaurant was closed on a Friday which was odd but plenty of good places to eat in Gosforth & only a few minutes walk. Just outside Gosforth on the main road but nice surroundings.

Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank johntY4852GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra A, Owner at Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Hi JohntY

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a response on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel friendly, warm and comfortable.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are next in the area. If you let us know, we will make sure the room is a little cooler for you.

Take care

Debra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

We booked a night at Westlakes Hotel as a last minute change of scenery. The hotel is beautiful, clean and well presented. The owners are so friendly and they are knowledgeable about the local area and the history of the house. The room we stayed in had wonderful views and I imagine all of the other rooms will too. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. We would love to return and will recommend the hotel to friends! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank P4906YUhannahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra A, Owner at Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Thank you Hannah B for taking the time to write a review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted with your positive comments and thank you.
I hope you will stay with us again the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews