We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly welcome.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed - with the extended family - for two nights on the third weekend in July (the hottest of the year) for a family wedding which was celebrated in St Bees with the hotel providing the venue for the reception and the wedding photographs.
The warmth of our welcome from Geoff and Debra was matched by the temperatures of our bedrooms - how often can you say that in the Lake District! The rooms are airy and very comfortable and quiet as ours was on the back of the hotel although the adjacent roads are by no means busy. On arrival the hotel team was very efficient and rustled up cups of tea etc. without having to be asked. On our first night we all slept soundly after a couple of drinks at the bar and we enjoyed a well cooked breakfast the following morning.
The attached wedding marquee was dressed and decorated beautifully, lots of little touches that made it special. On return from the wedding (the bride and bridesmaids stayed at the hotel on the eve of the wedding) the Pimms and Canapé's were beautifully prepared and served very professionally by the staff who all worked very hard throughout the day. The wedding breakfast was first class with the biggest Yorkshire puddings I have seen for a while. The whole event was great and this was due in no small part to the attentiveness and organisational skills of Geoff and Debra the proprietors.
West Cumbria is lucky to have a friendly and quality hotel of this nature as it is bound to draw visitors to the area. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 7,8 and 9 are on the first floor and overlook the extensive rear grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaydubya-Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
65
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in many travel tavern style B&B's around the Lake District it was a relief to find one which had entered the 21st century.

The rooms are amazing, when you have to use a set of steps to get into bed you know it's special. Roll top bath and separate shower in the very spacious bathroom.

Will definitely be staying here again - although the quality of the food in the kitchen means the waistline won't like it....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8NSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stay at the Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant on my visits to my office in Cumbria about once a month, and it is a great value with clean, large rooms, and great service. The hotel is a great location for business meetings in Cumbria, and provides a great place to rest and unwind. The staff is very friendly and are very service oriented.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night on June 28th. We had a four poster room which was fantastic, the bed was so high it has two steps to climb up. The room was really clean and very well kept. We had breakfast the next morning (both full English) everything was cooked really well. Deborah was on hand for anything we needed. All in all it was lovely and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a weekend stay, lovely small country house.
Owners and staff very helpful, friendly and polite.
Stayed in the four poster bed room, lovely old furniture (some of it needed repairs, odd handle missing ect, which distracted from its quality). Only one cup and no glasses in bedroom, do had to ask for them, whoops. Most comfortable bed, felt like princess and the pea!
Fantastic breakfast both morning ;-)
Visited seascale and discovered the fab beach and nice ice creams.
Would recommend to friends/ family if visiting this part of Cumbria.
Would like to go back soon to enjoy an evening meal as menu looked great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillynamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our son was married on the 15th June 2013. The wedding reception was held at Westlakes Hotel. What can we say other than the day was perfect. Debra and Geoff were the most helpful and caring of hosts. We had a slight hickup with one of the little ones not being well on the day which was nothing to do with Westlakes. Debra took the little one home with a Grandparent in their own car. We cannot say how grateful we were as it was quite some distance.
The food, drinks, rooms and service, were excellent throughout our time there and nothing was any problem. Everything to do with the reception was of the highest standard.
We would like to thank Debra, Geoff and all of their staff for helping to make it a very special day.
Mr & Mrs L Jackson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just been to my sisters wedding here and it was absolutely exceptional. The hotel staff provided excellent service all day and right through to the following morning. The rooms were done out beautifully and priced at a great rate. All the rooms had great views of the country side. I was a tad hung over to experience the breakfast but my partner said it was lovely. Thanks for a great day and will definitely be coming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosforth
22.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.5 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Address: A595 & B5344 | Seascale, Gosforth CA20 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westlakes Hotel is a beautiful late Georgian Country House set in three acres of tranquil mature gardens, situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty. We have a choice of ten en-suite bedrooms and each room is individually designed to give a comfortable space to work or relax in, with complimentary wireless internet connection. You can be sure of the warmest welcome and friendly service from Geoff and Debra, and our experienced friendly staff. Our 28 cover restaurant is open Monday to Thursday and Saturday from 6.30pm until 8.30pm. Please book to avoid disappointment. Special Offers available - please call or follow us on Facebook for more information. To the east is the spectacular scenery of the Lake District, while to the west , the Cumbrian coast offers long, uncrowded beaches. Indeed the area offers the best of both worlds; it is attractive but remains unknown by the majority of the Lake District tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlakes Hotel Gosforth
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant Gosforth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing