We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay at Brook House Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay at Brook House Inn”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have been coming to the Brook House Inn since 2008 and love it for its location, hospitality, food and beer. This time we were not disappointed we had an enormously comfortable 5 days. The food is excellent, with an interesting menu with several outstanding dishes, not least the daube of beef and the various fish. It is great to stay in a pub with great beer that really welcomes walkers as illustrated by the proper drying room. This is a pub to treasure and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybreakell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    45
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
93
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

After a lovely walk with Mandi, we decided to find somewhere inviting and warm with a nice choice of proper home cooked food. We found this pub in the middle of Eskdale and with a wood burner fire, cosy atmosphere and a nice selection of home cooked food on the menu, we decided to stay put and take advantage on what was on offer :) We both enjoy a great pie so we both tried the beef and ale pie with all the trimmings and gravy. The food didnt take long to be cooked and before our coats dried we were eating gorgeous chunks of juicy beef in ale inside beautiful short crust pastry. The trimmings included a lovely selection of vegetables and come chuncky crispy chips. It was fab :) we also had a lovely cup of tea and home made scones with butter jam and cream. It was lovely and we would come back again if we was to do another walk in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We visited the Brook House Inn on our last night in Eskdale. All I can say is, if you're anywhere near Boot or Eskdale, visit this pub as soon as you can.
The staff are friendly and accommodating. Even our dog was welcomed (in the bar area, where you can also have meals) and the food....oh, the food! It was delicious.
Alongside the regular menu, they have daily specials on - last nights' included filo parcels of garlic prawns, suet game pudding with all the trimmings, and for puddings they had the most delicious coffee torte with espresso cream. Kids have their own menu and delicious it is too - no deep-fried fast food here.The pub also has a great selection of ales.
Forget the competition - go here, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

First time in 12 years that the pub closest to where we were staying has been this good.
Interesting dishes, wonderful fresh vegetables, good value meals.
We returned here for food( and drinks!) four times during our stay in Boot. The staff are all very friendly, the dog is welcome too. Good choice of wines and massive menu of malt whisky. Cask is well kept.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WestburyTavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We live locally and we like to go for a meal to the Brook House as they are very consistent and offer good quality food. Lunch or dinner, meals are presented very well and they taste great. Staff are friendly and they also have a good selection of ales.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogusza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Brook House and as with the first, it was a memorable experience. The accommodation is cosy, comfortable and clean.The homemade biscuits were really appreciated especially by our 15 year old son. The food is exquisite and there is always a good choice. Breakfast was fab. especially the homemade breads and jams. The whole experience was friendly and welcoming.

The setting is just perfect away from the hustle and bustle of the towns. All you could hear were the sheep, the birds and the rushing water of the stream nearby.

Room Tip: Family rooms available with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenalexandria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed there one night it was the last room I believe , so it was right at the top of the building and not very big , we ate that evening, and the food was really good breakfast was also good ,the staff were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasher43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
10.0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
9.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.4 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House Inn and Restaurant

Property: Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Address: Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook House Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook House Inn offers an ideal base from which to explore the many contrasts of the Lake District. Family owned country Inn and restaurant serving imaginative food, real ales and over 170 malt whiskies. AA 4* Inn Award winning food and beer, West Cumbria Camra pub of the year 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brook House Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Eskdale
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Eskdale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing