We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes me pity the Romans”

Hardknott Roman Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.20*
and up
High Adventure Day Tour from Keswick
More Info
$57.65*
and up
The High Adventure: High Mountain Passes Spectacular from Windermere
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Eskdale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Makes me pity the Romans”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Visited this site on a cool, windy August afternoon. I can't imagine what life must have been like for the soldiers garrisoned here! Beautiful views of the countryside, great place for the kids to stretch their legs during a driving holiday!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    47
    8
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great walk and impressive it's still there to look at”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went to the very top of Hardnott pass after parking near the Fort. A bit boggy at times but well worth it as you get high very quickly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SAGJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
1 review
“Amazing location, very well preserved”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I first drove up to the fort from Ravenglass 30 years ago--by myself, in a small rental car called a Panda (recommend you have a more powerful car), and barely got across the pass ahead of a major storm and falling night...not recommended. Also, this is no place to get stuck without gasoline. The overall experience was one of the most exciting in all my research trips to Britain and the location is so awe-inspiring, I specifically set one of the scenes in my "Guinevere Trilogy" after visiting it. I would recommend this trip for the adventurer, the family with children of any age, and any other person who is interested in visiting a truly breathtaking spot.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Persia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“INTERESTING AND WELL PRESERVED”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you are still in control of your nerves after driving over the pass take time out to have a stroll through this ancient fort. Some fascinating insights into the lives of Roman soldiers as well as a fabulous view down Eskdale.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrypoole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Interesting place easy to miss”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This fort is on the way up to the Hardknott Pass. Keep your eyes peeled as we drove past before we realised we had missed it. Glad we went back as the place was outstanding with amazing views of the valley. Detailed explanations about the fort from the Roman baths outside the fort to the palatial commanders residence. It was free, well looked after and empty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hardknott Roman Fort also viewed

Eskdale, Lake District
 
Ravenglass, Lake District
Eskdale, Lake District
 

Been to Hardknott Roman Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing