We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Pub & Good Value Accommodation”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for three nights walking in the Western Lakes, location is spot on being close to the high fells of Eskdale and Wadale.

The flat for two was clean and well equiped, some of the bathroom fittings were a little worn but there was always plenty of hot water for the bath and shower. It is below the pub so you may hear a bit of noise when they are clearing up at night but nothing major. TV reception is good and the pub had decent orange phone reception too which is a plus.

The best thing is definitely the pub itself, great beer and a good selection of well cooked tasty pub meals. Not gastro type meals but just what you want when you've been out on the hills all day. Its a real locals pub too which is great to see.

Very dog friendly which was a key factor for us in chosing to stay here.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMBJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

A group of 18 of us took over most of the hotel for the weekend in order to climb Scafell Pike for charity on the Saturday. The rooms including self-catering accommodation were perfectly clean and well-ordered. The food was excellent and with a great selection of real ales and wines. But what was truly amazing, to someone who has travelled around the world, was the fantastic hospitality of the staff. The owner was a human dynamo. Nothing was too much trouble. He met everyone with a constant smile and provided a standard of service which you seldom see these days. Not only that, but his whole staff acted in exactly the same way. One member of staff came in on her evening off on the Saturday just to say goodbye to us, as she was not working on the Sunday. Absolutely fantastic. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

From mid August to the end of August we stayed at Fisherground Camp Site. The King George IV pub was within walking distance. What a fantastic pub. Dog and child friendly, superb staff and an ever changing selection of real ales. Also, the real ales are not just from the Lakes area, but from further afield. When we visted, they had Flat Cap on from Bank Top brewery in Bolton (our home town), among many others. Jonty has a great team of staff and they were extremely friendly and helpful. The food is all home cooked and really tasty, especially the beef and ale pie. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashirewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Visited the King george lV for the weekend,all the staff were very attentive and polite.The food was delish especially the breaded poach eggs with smoked salmon and asparagus,soo yummy ,we will be back,oh and the bed was so comfy too.Thankyou to all the staff. happy customer Leeza..xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeza p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Visited the King George IV for lunch while walking in Eskdale. Very welcoming staff, dog friendly and good pub grub. Had the Cumberland sausage baguette with mushrooms, side salad and chips, very tasty. Followed by bread and butter pudding from the specials board. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My finace and I stayed here last April over the easter break. (its taken awhile for me to get around to writing the review). We rented the little flat around the back of the pub. It was clean, cozy and just what we were looking for. They welcomed our dog Lily as well which was an added bonus. Although it rained the entire time, we still enjoyed the walks and the surrounding area as it was so pretty and peaceful, far removed from the busier areas of the lake district. The staff were brilliant and very friendly, the landlord was great as well. Even the locals were friendly. We loved the food, the steaks were delicious and the portions were huge and all at very reasonable prices. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstyMarkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you plan on visiting this place - and I'm NEVER going back - check your money, order and change. Remember also to ask for a receipt! Utterly foul landlord - incredibly rude. While I was waiting at the bar, there were three separate issues with bills and orders where people had been overcharged. This happened to us & the landlord, although he was entirely in the wrong, couldn't bring himself to apologise. Awful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eskdale hotels
1.1 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 10 in Eskdale
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Address: Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: $63 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George IV Inn, Eskdale Green, is a centuries old traditional Cumbrian Inn offering good local food, lots of local real ales, malt whiskies and a choice of self-catering accommodation and B&B en-suite rooms. Here at the King George, we extend a warm welcome to all visitors to the Eskdale Valley, whether you're staying with us, having a meal or simply stopping for refreshments on your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Eskdale
King George IV Inn Eskdale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing