We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bower House Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
210
115
48
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
115
48
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinglake districtthe pubwarm welcomelovely atmospherebeer gardengreat foodboth nightssunday lunchshort breakcomfy bedsteak and ale pienight stayroaring firean evening mealfull englishcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 411 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week with 2 friends a few years ago. The then manager, Richard, was a diamond; it was well staffed, nothing was a problem, highly efficient. As time passed, the owners brought in new management, and sold off the garden rooms next door. We have returned for the odd pint, when staying in Nether Wasdale, or more recently in Eskdale, and found the Bower House pretty dire. We stood at am empty bar one day this May, for 15 minutes, before a staff appeared, now that wasn't necessarily his fault, it may have been a lack of staffing/poor rota skills. The pints we had were acceptable, nothing special, but at least drinkable (real ale fanatics here). The cost per pint was a bit steep. The pub itself seems to be a simple conferencing venue - the building next to the pub with accommodation and group rooms; with a couple of additional accommodation rooms above the pub.
It is what it is, a once healthy pub with rooms, now seemingly utilised as a venue for business activities. That's the owner's prerogative of course, but I won't be staying there. I might go in for an ale now and again though...
For the best ales around here, go to The Strands in Nether Wasdale (microbrewery there); The King George 4th just out of Eskdale Green (£2.80 a pint, 9 hand pulls ever changing - Jonnty the main man owns this place); and The Brook House Inn at Boot (several well kept real ales). For those who like Jennings or Robinsons ales, the tied houses of the Santon Bridge Inn, and the Boot Inn, sell these respectively. The aforementioned Richard, now manages the Boot Inn at, erm yes, Boot! Oh yeah, the Screes Inn at Nether Wasdale, is also a tied Robinsons house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 666Pale-Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had visited this pub some years ago and always wanted to return because of the amazing location and we have fond memories of that visit. Unfortunately it has changed since then, for the worse. It's still a country inn serving ales and food but it is average at best. There is plenty of old world charm, and the setting is stunning but with the standard of Lake District pubs being generally so high this was an unfortunate disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDolbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Bower house is located in an area which is very popular with walkers and that, together with a friendly staff and its acceptance of dogs, is in our view, its greatest strength. When we booked in we were told that we were being given a better twin room than that which we had originally been allocated. We were grateful for that and whilst it was reasonable the two single beds sported mattresses with defective springs and no bed heads. The floor around the bath was giving way and the shower tiling was non too clean.
Breakfast was reasonable but the scrambled egg was dry and seriously overcooked; this influenced us not to book an evening meal.
In summary, The Bower House fails to meet the standards of other pub accommodation we have used in Cumbria and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed for 6 with friends wile exploring the South Lakes by train.
Disapointing Not enough staff or best use of staff.
Saw the manager on arrival and his partnet on departure.
Only one member of staff on at any one time and they did everything (and I mean everything) cheerfully under difficult circumstances. Well done Beccy Alan and Sarah. It is a busy place and and one person running the bar and restrauant is a recipe for disaster.
Food was poor and specials board was not kept up to date.
Suggests owner Chris Smith go and take a look as it could be a very special place.
He could also check out The Bridge at Stanton to see how it really sould be done.
Will be staying there in future.

Room Tip: Over looking the beautiful grounds and garden
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickiesMUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a lovely weekend here with good food, a well kept bar with real ales and a very hard working Manager-David. Our evening meals were lovely-especially the lamb chops-cooked as asked for, and our breakfast was certainly fresh. One bonus being that it was served until 10am, so no rushing! Nothing was too much trouble and we had a much needed relaxing weekend. The steam railway was only a short walk away so the car was abandoned and we spent the day on and off the train. This is a traditional Lakeland pub allowing well-behaved dogs which was nice to see these days and a haven for walkers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theblossoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews