We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Bower House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bower House Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Breakfast must have been cooked hours prior to order! Only one tea bag for a pot for two. Messages to resident not passed on by staff. No food available at late night arrival. Loo rolls not available on request. Altogether " a bit mean".

Room Tip: Barn conversion opposite the hotel afforded peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fileyflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    108
    46
    22
    13
See reviews for
69
174
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Located in quiet Eskdale, Bower House is nonetheless well placed for the giants of the Lake District in the next valley of Wasdale. Muncaster Castle is nearby with it's gardens and many Owls. One of the stations of the wee Eskdale railway was an easy walk.

Bower House is a Lakeland pub with rooms. It has no aims to be a highly starred hotel and for a walking holiday that works for me. The staff were friendly, the chips plentiful and the range of beers worth sampling.

We asked to be moved to a room in the older part of the pub which,though smaller,had considerably more character than the newer room. We were shown 3 available older rooms and staff were happy to offer which one we might like best. Nice touch,that.

Breakfast was good though in general the food was pretty ordinary rather than being a highlight of the visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in old part of the building have more character but are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed recently for a two night break and had a brilliant experience!
After a nightmare journey home from work and then a three hour drive to the inn, we were concerned about arriving late. We phoned the staff who were really understanding and kindly offered to wait up until we arrived.

We then got lost and had to ring again! Once again the staff were brilliant at giving us directions, and on arrival left the bar open so we could have a drink. Locals and staff were really friendly and helpful, giving plenty of good advice about the local sights and attractions. The hotel itself was clean, had a TV and shower in the room and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

All in all, a fantastic trip away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited Bower House after a gap of one year to be disappointed by how it has deteriorated in this short time. Although the rooms were pleasant and clean, the staff were helpful, the food was bland and poor quality. Furthermore, it is was greatly understaffed, the two staff were rushed off their feet trying to cope with a busy bar and restaurant. The dinner menu was limited and typical of bar food, not the quality restaurant food that Bower House have always prided themselves in. The meal was tasteless and the quality of the food was obviously of an inferior quality. Only a few of the cheaper quality wines were available off the wine list. At breakfast time, again the food was of an inferior quality, nothing like the magnificent food that was served previously. Finally, this lovely 17 century inn had new chairs in the bar area, looking completely at odds with the traditional décor. What are you doing to this lovely inn?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindyloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Bower house Inn is located where your sat nav will tell you different streets that is not there :-) we found it eventually :-)

Arrived and met Dave (i think the Manager?) he was very friendly and gave us tips on where and what to do. He was working on his own as well so he was here there and everywhere. We stayed at the beckfoot room and it was lovely room.lovely and powerful shower. It would have been nice to have a shower curtain or a bigger shower door so your bathroom floor will not get wet but it did not ruin the experience anyway. TV have dvd palyer built in so you can watch dvd if youwant to.

Floorborads a bit noisy when you walk but it did not bother us on our entire sleep. In fact, it was a peaceful night.

Breakfast was good and they have croissants and muffin if you dont fancy heavy breakfast :-)

Scenery at the back garden was panoramic. It was lovely :-)

Will definitely stay again

Room Tip: Beckfoot is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a scowl, silence and a document to sign. We were shown to room 4 could easily be 101, can I put it in 101? The dust was so thick that it could have given rise to a medical condition, Bower House Lung. At least we had a view, wait a minute, we did have a mountainous view, unfortunately it was obscured by workmen, who did, to be objective finally disappear into room 5 next door and set about sawing wood. The noise at least drowned out the sound of the dogs above us. The area may have had an issue with peeping toms as the bathroom had a piece of thin net at the window, at night we may as well have carved a sign, come and see my wife naked, we had to drape a bath towel over the window. The stay could not have got any worse, at least I thought so, until a lorry turned up and despite having a car park the size of a football pitch to park on, and despite my car being the only car on the car park he insisted On parking so close to me I could use the drivers door. All in all if I was offered free accommodation here I would insist on compensation and a refund prior to refusing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shawnprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Bower House Inn, Eskdale was quite in the middle of nowhere - no phone signal but they did have wifi!

Great location for the start of great walks. Close to the mini railway too.

Food was good in the bar/restaurant and given that our stay was in the cold Spring we were grateful for the open fires too.

Breakfast was basic with no fresh fruit just the basic food. Sausages were on my scale of 1 - 10 about a 4. (1 being poor 10 being fab!)

The venue was 17th century and hadn't been ruined with too much modernisation. We stayed in rooms to the side of the main building (the barn rooms) The walls were quite thin but warm - in fact too warm - we had to turn the heating OFF! It was nice being able to have a bath and a shower in the ensuite. The tea making facilities were not refilled after each day so take some more teabags or coffee! Rooms were clean and bed was a good size but too hard for me.

It was very peaceful and I felt relaxed - it was nice to be out of comms with the world in fact!

The only downside were the staff. All VERY young and not the best a customer service -we understood this quite quickly and were patient but we thought if we needed local knowledge that would have been lacking. Phone skills not good when I phoned for additional directions due to our route being blocked by snow,

We didn't see ONE mature staff member or owner at all during the stay. Overall you get what you pay for - no frills but the basics are good.

Room Tip: Barns Rooms have thin walls so if you are a quiet sleeper maybe ask for a main room house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkydiveAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
0.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
0.0 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#2 of 10 in Eskdale
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bower House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bower House Inn

Property: Bower House Inn
Address: | Irton, Eskdale CA19 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bower House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Eskdale valley, The Bower House Inn is situated 4 miles from the Cumbrian Coast and three miles from the A595, ensuring easy access to all local locations. This 17th century 3 star inn offers superb food, open log fires and a warm welcome. Whether you are a businessman working in the surrounding area wanting a relaxing home from home experience or a traveller seeking a comfortable room, the Bower House is the ideal place. The perfect base for those looking to immerse themselves in nature, with the Lake District National park just moments away and a great start point for those looking to explore the surrounding peaks of Scafell and Great Gable and with Wastwater within easy reach, there are lots of great trails for the more leisurely walker. All 20 rooms are traditional but have their own unique quality and are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and TV. There is also a modern and well equipped two bedroom flat suitable for families or business parties working in the area. The Bower House Inn provides a number of amenities, including luggage storage, free Wi-Fi, telephones and packed lunches if required. Relax in our beautiful garden set along the back drop of Muncaster Fell, the Bower House Inn boasts the best views in the Eskdale valley. Also why not enjoy a round of golf at discounted rates on Eskdale's spectacular golf course, or relax at one of our local fishing spots. Our bar and dining room have traditional low beamed ceilings where we offer a wide range of local ales, locally sourced produce and an extensive menu produced by a team of highly motivated chefs. Start your day with a good hearty Bower House Breakfast and within minutes you can be on the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Steam Miniature Railway, exploring the area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bower House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower House Hotel Eskdale
Bower House Inn Eskdale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing