We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dust, mould, rudeness, ignorance and sticky tables.al”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bower House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bower House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dust, mould, rudeness, ignorance and sticky tables.al”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a scowl, silence and a document to sign. We were shown to room 4 could easily be 101, can I put it in 101? The dust was so thick that it could have given rise to a medical condition, Bower House Lung. At least we had a view, wait a minute, we did have a mountainous view, unfortunately it was obscured by workmen, who did, to be objective finally disappear into room 5 next door and set about sawing wood. The noise at least drowned out the sound of the dogs above us. The area may have had an issue with peeping toms as the bathroom had a piece of thin net at the window, at night we may as well have carved a sign, come and see my wife naked, we had to drape a bath towel over the window. The stay could not have got any worse, at least I thought so, until a lorry turned up and despite having a car park the size of a football pitch to park on, and despite my car being the only car on the car park he insisted On parking so close to me I could use the drivers door. All in all if I was offered free accommodation here I would insist on compensation and a refund prior to refusing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shawnprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    104
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
67
163
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Bower House Inn, Eskdale was quite in the middle of nowhere - no phone signal but they did have wifi!

Great location for the start of great walks. Close to the mini railway too.

Food was good in the bar/restaurant and given that our stay was in the cold Spring we were grateful for the open fires too.

Breakfast was basic with no fresh fruit just the basic food. Sausages were on my scale of 1 - 10 about a 4. (1 being poor 10 being fab!)

The venue was 17th century and hadn't been ruined with too much modernisation. We stayed in rooms to the side of the main building (the barn rooms) The walls were quite thin but warm - in fact too warm - we had to turn the heating OFF! It was nice being able to have a bath and a shower in the ensuite. The tea making facilities were not refilled after each day so take some more teabags or coffee! Rooms were clean and bed was a good size but too hard for me.

It was very peaceful and I felt relaxed - it was nice to be out of comms with the world in fact!

The only downside were the staff. All VERY young and not the best a customer service -we understood this quite quickly and were patient but we thought if we needed local knowledge that would have been lacking. Phone skills not good when I phoned for additional directions due to our route being blocked by snow,

We didn't see ONE mature staff member or owner at all during the stay. Overall you get what you pay for - no frills but the basics are good.

Room Tip: Barns Rooms have thin walls so if you are a quiet sleeper maybe ask for a main room house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkydiveAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balivanich
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Made to feel welcome, evening meal good, breakfast good. Rooms nice only down side woken by the dustbin men at 06:30 and had to walk to the bottom of car park for mobile signal, but the beauty of th area mor than makes up for it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Made to feel 'Home from Home' here, comfortable, clean, good food and great service. The staff can't do enough for you and the food is fresh and featuring local produce. good choice for breakfast ranging from Porridge, or Kippers through to the Bower House Cooked Breakfast.

Ideally located for easy walking or drives to the Western Lake District. There is short walk just up the road which takes in a forest bridle path and then through the Japanese Gardens and Giggle Alley back down to the road, it takes about an hour and a half.

All in All, it is refreshing to visit the Traditional Lakes experience.

Room Tip: Try The Ullswater Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okeh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My partner and I were smitten by this warm and welcoming place. We were after a quiet getaway for a couple of days and the Bower House Inn fit the bill just fine.

Peaceful walking is on your doorstep, as is the Ravenglass to Dalegarth railway (both of which we took plenty advantage). I've travelled a bit, and of all places I've visited, the most romantic is a dead heat between Eskdale and Grange-over-Sands. I proposed to my (now) fiancee on Sunday morning overlooking the breathtaking hills a few hundred yards down the road from the Inn.

If you'd prefer to hunker down instead, the rooms are well enough appointed and very cosy. There is a choice to eat in either the bar or restaurant, for any meal you choose to take there. Given the option, the bar is just perfect, with its lovely open fire.

The food was excellent. The "Full House" (Full English) was adequate, and cooked in very little fat. The staff make a mean scrambled egg! There is plenty of choice for evening meals, and a specials board. We were very happy with our chicken stew and burger and chips. Our will to explore other places overrode our desire to eat there again. If only we'd stayed another night!

Eskdale isn't the easiest place to reach, especially in the ice, snow and 1 in 3 hill we were subjected to on an ill-advised SatNav route back via Kendal, but if we'd wanted a big battery hotel off the M61 we would have done that instead.

All-round, a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were apprehensive about our stay after reading recent reviews, but we did enjoy our stay.

We had a friendly enough welcome, the room itself was very nice others have mentioned cleanliness overall, i'd say it was good, the only gripe would be a boxing in the bathroom that wasn't a clean as it should be. But other than that it was spotless no dust in sight. But perhaps reading reviews on here make you hyper critical and maybe otherwise i wouldn't even have noticed!

We had a meal and it was good, i think generally these pubs who are in the middle of nowhere have to charge a premium which is a fair enough.

Others mentioned wild nights, but we didn't experience any, we were the last in the bar on the Saturday night at 11.00pm and it was a very tranquil place

The breakfast was average i'd say.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the weekend on a deal.
The price of the hotel tariff does not make any sense for the value you get at full price and so with the voucher deal being a discount rate, you would think your getting a bargin but it's still overpriced compared to other places in the local area aswell as other deals in the lake district, the room is very very basic at best with no charm except cracks/mold and miss match of dusty fittings and shabby furniture and thin walls.

(me and my parter have stayed in the lakes before in various locations and different price ranges on diffrent deals and this deal was a mid to high range price)


Short version.

Do not stay here because;
It's very overpriced for what itis,
Poor service and vibe I.e not freindly,
Overpriced food that is made and cooked very badily.
Breakfast is a major let down to starting your day,
Rooms stuffy/dusty and has mold,
Pub fights happen with locals,
Room has no soundproofing/toilet screeching from everyone throughout the night and talking from neighbours so no privacy for a romantic weekend.
Complaints are ignored.
Room starts to smell of cooking fat when anyone cooks,
And your trapped here as its very remote.



Long version.

Open arrival was greeted by Louise who seemed freindly at first at reception and she instantly shown us to our room.

Inside was a small, cold, dark, poorly lite room with a miss match of cheap furniture with no character or style, was a very stuffy room and lots of dust. Cracks all over and some repair to cracks that were visible as not painted over.
Bed was a very small double and not comfy, with old dusty scatter cushions on top. Bathroom had mold in and when you turn on the shower the head dramtically turns 90 degrees and sprays water on the floor and this happens when other guests use the toilet. Toilet also screeches when other guests use there en-suit and makes loud noise in the night. Not so good if you like to use the toilet in the night as it wakes everyone up.
Big crack under the door so you can smell food constantly as the kitchen door is left open so the smell goes up he stairs into your room, don't get me wrong I like food smells but this is cooking fat smell on a evening from a fryer and in the morning from cooked breakfasts.

Food was a very poor standard, was quite gutted as read good reviews but I orded pâté that was a bland tasteless oversized slab of nothing, essentially there was no seasoning or flavour, was served with basic toast, also tried garlic mushrooms but again had no depth of flavour and a tiny portion of nothing special. Had a burger that lacked actual meat and came as it was shrunk to a tiny aize with a skanky portion of chips, the burger was a poor quality of meat and had been overcooked as was dry and had bits of gristle/cartilage in every mouthful, I had to ask for mayo to moisten it but I left it and eat the chips. I complained on the starter and again about the main but the young waitress simply did not care and nothing happend.
Very overpriced and not proper pub grub as portions are small and cheap ingredients are used, I've had better burgers in weatherspoons for £3.99 that comes with a pint or even a 99p chicken mayo chicken is far supperior.

Second night i opted to eat out down the road at the king George which had a excellent vibe, very freindly and loads cheaper and more importantly decent pub bring using good local ingredients. I recommend eating there highly.

The actual bar had some decent clean tasting ales but lacked any vibe.

On the first day after a hour upon arrival a large group of males took over the bar for a few hours and cranked the volume up very loud from 5 onwards with drum & bass which is not so great if your after a romantic time away or relaxing time as your trapped as there's nothing in walking distance and as there is no sound proofing you can hear the music under the gaps and the old floors vibrate, we could also hear a drunken fight a couple hours after that went on for a while, what happened was a bar table was thrown across the bar and then evtually one of the guys had his head smashed through a window, then the police arrived and then a ambulance, this is not what you really want on a weekend away.

Breakfast varried dramatically each morning, in quality aswell and quantities 2 sausage one morning and one overdone one the next, oh and the locally sorced sausage was a walls sausage, very greasy plate and egg overdone, cold mushrooms, you toast your own bread but the toaster is too small for the bread so quarter does not even toast.

The area eskadale itself is nice and we looked at the tarrif at the king George that was in the menu down the road and was surprised at the pictures and value for money, the place was buzzing with a proper vibe, loads of drinks and a proffesional menu that delived great food so slightly gutted I ended up in the Bower House Inn.

Summery.

This is the reason why people support more and more chain hotels and restaurants as independent b&bs/restaurants like this advertise and make false promise about themselves when they can't clearly live up to them, they overprice things to make more money and do not deliver or accept your complaint but simply ignore you as a customet and take your hard earned money. AVOID!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnstyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bower House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bower House Inn

Property: Bower House Inn
Address: | Irton, Eskdale CA19 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bower House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Eskdale valley, The Bower House Inn is situated 4 miles from the Cumbrian Coast and three miles from the A595, ensuring easy access to all local locations. This 17th century 3 star inn offers superb food, open log fires and a warm welcome. Whether you are a businessman working in the surrounding area wanting a relaxing home from home experience or a traveller seeking a comfortable room, the Bower House is the ideal place. The perfect base for those looking to immerse themselves in nature, with the Lake District National park just moments away and a great start point for those looking to explore the surrounding peaks of Scafell and Great Gable and with Wastwater within easy reach, there are lots of great trails for the more leisurely walker. All 20 rooms are traditional but have their own unique quality and are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and TV. There is also a modern and well equipped two bedroom flat suitable for families or business parties working in the area. The Bower House Inn provides a number of amenities, including luggage storage, free Wi-Fi, telephones and packed lunches if required. Relax in our beautiful garden set along the back drop of Muncaster Fell, the Bower House Inn boasts the best views in the Eskdale valley. Also why not enjoy a round of golf at discounted rates on Eskdale's spectacular golf course, or relax at one of our local fishing spots. Our bar and dining room have traditional low beamed ceilings where we offer a wide range of local ales, locally sourced produce and an extensive menu produced by a team of highly motivated chefs. Start your day with a good hearty Bower House Breakfast and within minutes you can be on the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Steam Miniature Railway, exploring the area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Bower House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower House Hotel Eskdale
Bower House Inn Eskdale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing