We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Orchards apartment entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Orchards apartment entrance
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Orchards apartment entrance
Lounge
Lounge
Upstairs twin bedroom
Upstairs twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Britains favourite view - Wasdale, our neighbouring valley to the North
Scafell from Mitredale
Sphinx rock in Wasdale, just 10 miles away
Lincove Beck packhorse bridge, upper Eskdale
Langdale pikes, just 15 miles away
Corn Mill in Boot village, Eskdale
Bow Fell, Upper Eskdale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TMSJ
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Lovely, quiet and well maintained self catering in a beautiful location, very close to pubs and the village shop, as well as 5 minutes walk from the tourist railway that runs to Ravenglass on the coast. Michael, the owner, is very friendly and approachable, and full of local information. We had a wonderful time and definitely want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review, we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia H
1 review
“Enjoyed the flat, the amenities and the area very much. The flat was clear and great views from the living room window.”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great area for a local walk and stunning view.
great food in the pubs.
Good fun on the railway
Very isolated if you wanted to see the rest of the Lakes as it is a long hilly drive out of the the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Jane - we really appreciate it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kasia R
1 review
“Great place to stay!!!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We love the place, we love the area and views. This was our second visit in this place, highly recomendind. We had an amazing time, the owners made our stay special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M S
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent self-contained base for wonderful walking holiday”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great location for a wide variety of walks. Excellent facilities in a spacious yet warm & cosy apartment. Everything you need is provided (for exactly 4 people) with one rather unusual exception. We have never previously had to take our own towels to self-catering apartments or B&Bs and we failed to read all of the details on The Orchards website (which do state towels not provided). Hence the 4 of us arrived with no towels for a 4-day stay. Fortunately, the owners are very friendly and quickly provided what we needed. We dined at the local pub (George 4th) one night and were very disappointed with the food; however, we also discovered The Boot Inn (at Boot - about 2 miles away) which was absolutely superb. Drove home via the Hard Knot Pass with stunning scenery to Ambleside - quite an experience (but only for confident drivers!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness.
Liked least: Decor in bedrooms and lounge.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA N
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved stay here. Mr and Mrs Kennedy were so helpful when we damaged our car. Went above and beyond to help us out.
The apartment was superb, spacious, clean tidy and we'll kitted out.
Lovely surroundings. Can't wait to go back in Sept.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jellyfish...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay in beautiful surroundings. Very friendly welcoming owners who live on site after making sure you have everything you need leave you to get on with your stay. The apartments are equiped with everything you need for a small family self catering stay, fridge freezer, washing machine and best of all for getting your walking shoes dry a boiler room with hanging space for all your wet stuff. Bed was really comfy, nice sitting room area, hot shower or you could have a large bath whole place really clean and tidy. Few little extra touches supplied by the owners makes it an excellent place to stay when walking in the eskdale area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for everything
Liked least: Wifi a bit intermittent for a teenager!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing