We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the way, but great value”
Review of Irton Hall B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Irton Hall B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A little out of the way, but great value”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Unless you are actually visiting Ravenglass, this hotel is a little out of the way. The outside of the hotel is very impressive as is its history. The room was larger than average and the bed very comfortable. On the evening had a bar meal which was okay, nothing wrong with it but not too impressed either. The breakfast was lovely and having the option of haggis was a big bonus. I booked this room last minute and for £49 for the two of us B&B was good value. The rooms could do with being brightened up a little, the decor was a little bland. Wouldn't make a special trip to stay here, but if over in that area again, I would use it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    116
    34
    16
    16
See reviews for
121
266
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If it wasn't for the truly heroic work by Steve when we arrived who is clearly has customer service down to a fine art I would have rated our stay much, much more harshly.

On arrival the building and room had massive wow! factor, I was chuffed to bits given the amount of space in our room, the friendliness of the evening staff and the good tasting food.

The shine wore off very quickly however once back in our room, sleep time. Clearly it must be above the kitchen which has a creaking door. For four near solid hours we were subjected to non-stop creaking echoing through the floor, no doubt as servers were passing through. Finally, near 11.30pm it stopped. Mostly. Sadly I was woken back up again at about 6.30 as it started up again, and I am a very heavy sleeper so make no mistake, this was quite a noise. My other half sleeps with ear plugs so thankfully she missed it all.

The bathroom was not particularly great with the machinator going off sporadically and making a terrible noise during the night. Also the shower screen was totally insufficient for the shower, resulting in the floor turning into a paddling pool which we mopped up with all the towels.

Next morning we came down for breakfast, we declared our room number when asked and offered any free table. During our breakfast we were asked by the lady (waitress / manager?) to confirm our room number as it was the same as another couple had given. Eventually it was cleared up that the other couple had changed rooms and had actually given out the wrong room number to the staff - they had originally been in our room but had been moved, maybe due to the creaky door? As they later left the restaurant one of the other couple was heard joking to himself "lets see what else we can charge to that room".

Well clearly they had got a head start as when we checked out 20mins later there was over £70 of additional food and alcohol charges on our bill. We didn't drink whilst there so these definitely weren't ours. It didn't take long to work out what was and wasn't ours with the same lady from the restaurant however throughout going through the correction process we never quite got the feeling that we were being believed, even though only 1 hour earlier the room confusion had been highlighted. Maybe that is me being a bit sensitive, disappointing none the less. As for the other couple, I don't blame Irton hall for their clear dishonesty as they must have known they had billed items to our room. Frankly, they should be ashamed of themselves.

It was quite a trek out of our way to stay at Irton Hall and was meant to be a bit of a treat for us on our way up to Scotland. Steve has left the biggest impression though, being so positive and friendly - hence the three stars. The hall however was a massive let down.

Room Tip: Not one above a creaking door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at Ormondroyd Cottage, one of the self catering cottages next to Irton Hall itself, for a week in November. We were so pleased on arrival to find a clean, newly decorated, well equipped cottage exactly as pictured on the website. The virtual tour is very helpful. As a result you get exactly what you expect.
The manager of the day, Tom, quickly showed us round and pointed out that we could use the hotel facilities. You can order breakfast and dinner and even packed lunches to take onto the fells. So it's like self catering only with less of the catering if you wish. Of course you could just stay in and totally self cater.
The staff were all exceptionally helpful and did everything possible to make the holiday stress free.
There are brilliant walks of many lengths from the doorstep, including Whin Rigg, the fell next to Irton Pike overlloking Wast Water and Scafell. Amazing given that it's less than a mile away.
The ownwer, Steve, also excelled and as a result we scored this Hotel/Cottage 10/10.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with the large room and huge comfy bed, spa bath was a nice surprise. Would defiantly stay again. Good value for money.
Lovely steak from the restaurant.
Beautiful surroundings and was also dog friendly

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at Irton Hall for her birthday weekend. We were not disappointed in any way. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, the staff friendly and helpful. The room was good, the bed one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in. The food was excellent. Overall this was the best value I have had anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Irton Hall in Feb 2013 and found it absolutely wonderful and promised that we would return soon. Unfortunately we did not get the chance until last weekend but when we did return we were not dissapointed. The property is described as a "B&B" but i would see it more as a small boutique hotel. The setting - a 16th Century Hall is fantastic although it is better to arroach from the A595 at Holmrook that come across the treacherous approachfrom the east via the lower reaches of Scafell Pike. The staff were very welcoming and we were shown to room 2 on the ground floor which was a nice sized room well equipped with Flat Screen T.V., Super King Size Bed and a Jacuzzi Bath. After settling in we went to the bar which serves a good range of drinks incluidng 2 nice real ales. We ate in the bar and the food was delicious and well priced for the quality and quantity received. After eating our fill we had a couple more drinks and retired to the bedroom where we had a fantastically comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was served between 8am and 9,30am and again was delicious. There was a range of fruit juices, fruit, cereals, yogurts and pastries available via buffet and the cooked English was amazing. 2 slices of locally produced bacon, a thick Cumberland sausage and an extremely tasty portion of Haggis all served with mushrooms, beans and tomato. The only down size about the visit was having to leave. Keep up the good work as we will be expecting the same very high standards when we return soon

Room Tip: I have stayed twice, once on the first floor and once on the ground floor and boith rooms were excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwerty9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia District, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on our way up to Scotland.What a wonderful relaxed atmosphere there was there.
Cannot praise all the staff enough they really looked after us.
Would recomend this hotel and will use again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWL2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
20.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
498 reviews
19.1 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
20.7 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
23.7 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
970 reviews
18.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irton Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irton Hall B&B

Property: Irton Hall B&B
Address: Eskdale CA19 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Irton Hall B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Irton Hall offers an impressive thirteen rooms of Bed and Breakfast accommodation, ranging from spacious doubles to family rooms. All accommodation includes en suite bathrooms, together with a range of in-room extras such as FREE WiFi, flat screen TV, iPod dock and tea and coffee-making facilities. Irton Hall has an on-site bar for all guests, offering local ales and a range of beverages. Breakfasts are served in the lounge bar, with Full English Breakfast and lighter continental options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irton Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irton Hall B&B Eskdale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing