We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lamplugh cottage-lovely and in a great location for walking. Good winter deal :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irton Hall B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Irton Hall B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lamplugh cottage-lovely and in a great location for walking. Good winter deal :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The location of Irton Hall is simply amazing. In the quieter and in our opinion, prettier western part of the lakes and close to the scafell massif, it was was just beautiful. Even in the horrendous hail!

The Hall and grounds are incredibly pretty, and the cottage was spacious and cosy with a lovely big kitchen. Unfortunately the bed in the en suite room was creaky but we laughed about it. The only other gripe was the unreliable hot water in the showers. You should be spending most of your time outside anyway though when in this part of the country! Good prices available when there are six of you in the low season too.

Staff throughout were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant due to arriving late. Can definitely recommend the Woolpack at the Hardknott pass- don't miss out!

Wooden open stepped staircase, keep an eye if you have kids with you.

Lovely log burner! :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    108
    33
    15
    15
See reviews for
111
252
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here last weekend in the B&B as opposed to the self catering accommodation.
After a quick check-in we were shown our room which was well decorated, spacious, clean with a large and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was also large and very clean with a spa bath and separate shower. The shower cubicle was just a bit on the small side with a plastic shower tray which was not really of the same standards as the other fixtures and fittings. However, it was serviceable and there was plenty of hot water.
The evening meal let them down a wee bit. Having said that the hotel has only been open a short time and they are still working on some areas. At the moment they are in the middle of relocating the kitchen and fitting out a new restaurant so on both evenings we ate in the bar. There was a good variety on the menu including a wide vegetarian and children's selection. On our second night the bar was busy and we waited quite some time for our meal to arrive. There were eight of us and not all our main courses arrived at the same time with some of us having finished before the last person was served. However, we did receive an apology and the owner was helping out as much as possible. This is at the moment a work in progress but I am sure once the restaurant opens (expected by April) it will enhance the dining experience.
All staff were helpful and friendly. Particular plaudits must go to Ben who was a one man band serving in the bar, taking and serving the meals etc.
The location, building, grounds, setting are excellent and would make a great backdrop for a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasirton, Manager at Irton Hall B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello and thanks for reviewing us.

I am sorry for the delay on the Saturday night with your meals, we have only ever needed one chef but with business growing as fast as it is we have now put measures in place so we have suitable cover for the busier times. Dan the young guy on the bar is a star and has been with us since the beginning thanks for noticing his hard work its comments like this that make this trade worth working in.

Im glad you share our enthusiasm for the Irton Hall we are very much looking forward to the new restaurant and would love you to come and try us again when completed.

Regards

Tom hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a relatively new business and the buildings have previously had various uses. It is a fantastic building and location. The rooms are spacious and reasonably well appointed with Philips flat screen LCD TVs, sound system with the obligatory iPod/iPhone dock (didn't check, but don't think it had the far more popular auxiliary lead for most people with other phones or MP3 players). The tiled bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi bath. My one criticism is that the bed was far too soft. There are extensive grounds so you can literally go out of the door to enjoy a good walk, including a wooded hillside immediately behind.

The potential is that it doesn't really get many of the details right and in today's competitive environment for hotels, pubs and B&Bs there is really no excuse. The bar serving bar meals feels a bit Spartan rather than warm and welcoming. It needs more character. The bar meals (the separate restaurant hasn't opend yet) were poor. From reading the menu I'd expected good pub grub. What you get is not so good pub grub.

My chicken liver pate with Cumberland sauce starter was delicious, but it was all downhill from there. My main course of "Lakeland Rib-eye served with onion rings, chunky chips and crisp salad" was anything but. The steak was served rare as requested, but could have been better cooked and I think had been over-seasoned with salt - certainly something in the meal was too salty. The onion rings and chips were foul frozen monstrosities, which when you're paying £15 is an insult.

There are lots of excellent pubs serving far better quality bar meals and charging less. We didn't have any desert as after the main course I expected them to just be bought-in frozen stuff. Overhearing a table next to us being served it was also apparent that they didn't even have many things on the menu.

Breakfast was quite nice with decent sausages, bacon, mushrooms, fresh grilled tomatoes, hash browns and a choice of haggis or black pudding. The choice of cereals, yoghurt and fruit salad (not fresh) was OK, but the 'pastries' weren't good at all and came in nasty cellophane packets. Despite the staff being friendly the service was poor, which I suspect was down to a lack of training. They never asked if you wanted a top up of coffee, they didn't clear the tables so when they brought your breakfast just left the empty cereal packet on the table. Lots of small details like that spoil the experience.

Overall I think Irton Hall has lots of potential, but if it is to survive it needs to get the small details right as lots of other places do.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel has views of the hills. The rear faces over woodland which restricts the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasirton, Manager at Irton Hall B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.

We take all guest comments on board and try to act upon them to make sure things are always improving.

The food served in our bar area is homemade including the chips, with the potatoes delivered daily and prepared in the chunky fashion as requested by customers.
We have just opened our new kitchen (March 7th) so we now have the facilities to cope with the increasing demand.

The Sunday morning breakfast was one of our busiest so far and the girls were flat out, i have passed on your comments and appropriate measures have been taken to ensure the service matches the standard we hope to achieve.

We are just in the last stages of finishing the new dining room with this done we will be able to put our stamp on the bar area making it feel more cosy with character, as you have mentioned.

Kind regards

Tom Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The toilets are on a delicate septic tank which blocks easily. The bathrooms are all ensuites, and the one which was shared between the twin room and a double room was blocked up when we arrived, and the bathroom floor soaked. I'd hazard a guess, given the signage, that this is a regular occurrence. We told reception (at 7pm) and were told it was too late to get a plumber. So that night four of us had to disturb the others if we wanted to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. The next day we complained again, adding that the water was flooding into one of the adjoining bedrooms and the carpet was wet; it smelled foul. They sent a plumber round, who (partially) fixed the toilet and mopped the bathroom floor, but said that we should only use the toilet for "light work". I'm sure, once he'd gone, the bedroom floor carried on getting wetter, and it smelled disgusting. I tried to have a shower in the bathroom but that wasn't draining at all, so I had to use another bathroom. We weren't offered any sort of compensation or apologies from the management.

If it weren't for the unsanitary plumbing failure, I would've given this place a very good rating. Good kitchen, spacious living room, plenty of parking space.

Room Tip: Grab the upstairs room away from the noisy living room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha3829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasirton, Manager at Irton Hall B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi thanks for reviewing us good or bad it all helps to make the Irton Hall a success.

The problems with the toilet over your weekend stay was a saniflow problem which must have been blocked by a previous guest not a septic tank problem.

Sadly this was a full strip down of the unit so was not possible with guests in.

Compensation has been offered to the principle booker.

Regards

Tom Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astley, Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stopped here for a weekend away and to try our hand at walking in the local area.
Firstly, the building and grounds are very impressive and certainly looked the part. Exactly the type of building you'd expect for the area.
Getting there was not really a problem, but it is quite out of the way. The route we took went over moors on very twisting roads that could induce some sickness if taking it too quickly.
Upon arriving, the staff were very friendly and attentive, quick to answer any questions we had and also walked us to our room. Couldn't fault the staff at all.
The room was lovely and very well decorated. From a personal point of view the bed was a little short for me with my feet hanging over the edge. The bathroom was quite large although the shower screen wasn't really up to task and the floor did get incredibly wet. It as very white, clinical and stark as decor though. Too white perhaps.
We had lunch in the bar area which was quite pleasant with food coming our way pretty quickly. There were a number of tables available. Again, the staff were faultless.
The evening time was a different story all together. We only managed to get a table because another couple were leaving a few mins after we arrived. Food took approximately 2 hours to arrive with no explanation as to the delay. It was tasty and we enjoyed it but it wasn't worth the 2 hours wait. Before we arrived we did ask to see if they stocked a particular sparkling wine, which they said they didn't, but they did order us a bottle specially. That was incredible customer service and it was a very nice wine, however, due to the 2 hour wait for our food, the wine was gone long before we ate.
Maybe it was just an isolated incident, and hopefully with the new restaurant opening soon there will be more tables and a quicker delivery of food.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. Great place, fabulous area, friendly helpful staff and some really decent prices. Just let down by a few niggly things.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed only 1 night, but it was a wonderful evironment, after a hard day's activity We shared with some friends, another family of 4, and the clock tower is ideal for groups of our size. The shared areas are spacious and the bedrooms are private and comfortable (all en-suite, one with a Playstation) so everyone was happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalliopeThisbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stopped here a very short notice, and we were both very impressed with the room (Exactly like the photos on the website!
Very pleasant staff
Good breakfast tho it missed a little something extra like beans or butter for the toast, it was excellent nonetheless as everything was local and tasty.
Would definitely return for longer in the Summer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
20.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
18.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
21.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irton Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irton Hall B&B

Property: Irton Hall B&B
Address: Eskdale CA19 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Irton Hall B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Irton Hall offers an impressive thirteen rooms of Bed and Breakfast accommodation, ranging from spacious doubles to family rooms. All accommodation includes en suite bathrooms, together with a range of in-room extras such as FREE WiFi, flat screen TV, iPod dock and tea and coffee-making facilities. Irton Hall has an on-site bar for all guests, offering local ales and a range of beverages. Breakfasts are served in the lounge bar, with Full English Breakfast and lighter continental options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Irton Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irton Hall B&B Eskdale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing