We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property
Lodges by the rafting pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodges by the rafting pool
BarnGarth Lodge Lodges in Autumn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Lodges by the rafting pool
BarnGarth Lodge
Lodges in Autumn
Rafting
Field End Lodge
WoodBank Lodge
Living Room and Kitchen
Living room
Double Room
Twin Room
Rafting pool
Sunset on the Veranda
One of many fabulous clear swimming pools
View from Woodbank Veranda
Rafting on the pond
Wastwater
Lodges toasty and warm in winter.
Play Area
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JillLiver...
Liverpool UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived home yesterday from a five night stay in Woodbank Lodge, it was so beautiful. Hubby and I didn't want to come home. We took the dog and had some of the most beautiful scenic hikes then back to a lodge which was so cosy and had everything you need. Lighting the log fire and sitting in the evening listening to the fire crackle and pop was just so wonderful. Woodbank is right next to a stream so you can hear it of a night all adds to the lovely tranquil experience. Didn't meet owner through our own choice but he answered his message for more logs promptly when I rang. We will be booking the lodge again as it was just perfect.
Spotlessly clean and the beds were sooooo comfy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kvwebb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting and views. Really good stay.”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge is lovely and well worth the money. Nice pub just down the road and local people so friendly

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lodge in peaceful, picturesque location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brecht d
Kortemark, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice house, great location!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It was the second time we came from Belgium to visit the lake district. In our previous visit, we found out that this side of the district is a very peacefull and beautifull one. We find our lodge in a very nice and quiet valley. The lodges are all very nice as is the grounds around them. Lots of space for the children. They liked the little pond aswell. The barn would be nice when raining, but we had the luck of having a week of sunshine. Inside the cottage (Barngarth) wa had everything we needed. The pots and pans could be bigger for a family of five, but the we found some extras in the barn just next to our cottage. The barn is not mentioned in previous messages very much. This was something I did not knew our saw before we left. Outside of two bedrooms and our sofa the barn was the view. But he surrounding mountainviews around it compensate this. The owner of the cottages has a good eye for details. The maps with walks and nice places to visit, made a great deal of our vacation. The phone with satalite connection was helpfull to. If there was one thing that could be nice to, that would be some more plants or trees around the cottage to ensure some more privacy in the cottages as there was a clear view in the cottage next to ours. We had a great stay, a memorable week and will return for sure as we did not had the chance of exploring everything yet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Kleine kinderen
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I loved staying in the lodge, it was very comfortable and clean, lovely log fire for cold evenings. Safe place for young children to play. Countryside all around, excellent for walks. Local pubs for eating out. Has free sat TV for evenings in. Also has free wi-fi. Good location for visiting south and west lakes. Would go back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrclever3...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THREE DOGS-AND OWNERS GRAB A PIECE OF HEAVEN FOR FIVE DAYS”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

had the most fabulous stay.Breathtaking scenery-trip to Wasdale stunning.Perfect lodge.Pet perfect.Lodge in great setting,clean efficient. Eskdale bank at the library two mornings per week-10 whilst midday. Store shop opposite.Great hours in summer-limited in winter.
I would fear to recommend this place-as I want to keep it to myself!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: keep your quid coins ready for elecky meter
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing