We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THREE DOGS-AND OWNERS GRAB A PIECE OF HEAVEN FOR...”
other travelers have booked this property
Lodges by the rafting pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodges by the rafting pool
BarnGarth Lodge Lodges in Autumn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Lodges by the rafting pool
BarnGarth Lodge
Lodges in Autumn
Rafting
Field End Lodge
WoodBank Lodge
Living Room and Kitchen
Living room
Double Room
Twin Room
Rafting pool
Sunset on the Veranda
One of many fabulous clear swimming pools
View from Woodbank Veranda
Rafting on the pond
Wastwater
Lodges toasty and warm in winter.
Play Area
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrclever3...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THREE DOGS-AND OWNERS GRAB A PIECE OF HEAVEN FOR FIVE DAYS”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

had the most fabulous stay.Breathtaking scenery-trip to Wasdale stunning.Perfect lodge.Pet perfect.Lodge in great setting,clean efficient. Eskdale bank at the library two mornings per week-10 whilst midday. Store shop opposite.Great hours in summer-limited in winter.
I would fear to recommend this place-as I want to keep it to myself!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: keep your quid coins ready for elecky meter
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As advertised, including starter pack for log burning fire!
Liked least: Nothing as all was brill!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peaceful setting and the general comfort of the lodge
Liked least: the rain !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlanCross...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just come back from a great few days in the Lakes. We chose Fisherground Lodges because of its great location and proximity to some of the best hiking that the Lake District has to offer.

We certainly weren't disappointed! Pete who runs the lodges there was very helpful throughout the whole booking process and answering questions whilst we were there. The lodges themselves are very well appointed, clean and have a lovely wood burning stove (logs provided). They contain everything you need to just turn up and enjoy the fantastic surroundings including local guides and maps of places of interest. There are also a couple of very good local pubs nearby serving great food and local ales.

Long walks/cycles can be taken directly from the front porch of the lodges and Scafell is only a short drive away.

All in all, it was a great few days we spent there and highly recommend these lodges to anyone wishing to experience the real Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the lodge
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M M
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We cannot fault this place!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We've visited Eskdale 4 years running now. We've always camped in the adjacent campsite which is also great. We fancied something a bit more relaxing this time round.

I cannot say enough about this place, and wished we had gone here sooner. Excellent customer service, Exceptional standards of cleanliness and hospitality. Thank you very much for the wood, and free WiFi. We enjoyed our stay very much, and will definitely be returning in the not to distant future. We stayed in the crag view accommodation. Glad we got the upgrade! We had everything we needed for a fantastic break!!!!
Well worth every penny!

This business understands it's customers! Great job! and thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, peace & quiet and overall privacy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDowning1...
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Outstanding - The best value I've ever experienced.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 weeks in Wood Bank Lodge for a touch over £700 in total (4 adults and 2 children stayed - amazing value!). 3 bedrooms (1 double, 2 singles which can be pushed together and a double bunk bed) a lounge/kitchen/eating area and a bathroom. The cabin is very clean, well furnished and has some nice touches like a microwave oven, dishwasher, satelite tv and the wood burning stove fire. It has pretty much all the equipment you need for your stay, sheets, duvets, cutlery, cups, glasses, bottle opener, can opener, plates, hoover, frying and cooking pans etc etc etc. We didn't need one thing, it was all there. There is also a pay as you go phone provided as you won't get a phone signal in the interior of the lake district, you'll only get one on the coastal road around the lake district or in the major towns in the northern areas like Cockermouth or Keswick (except for EE networks which seem to work).

There are other facilities onsite in a shared building - washing machines, table tennis, pool table, books, games etc. The shared building is where you can also access free WIFI (most pubs and restaurants also provide this as well) we couldn't access WIFI from our cabin as the signal was too weak. To be honest this turned out to be a benefit as we really allowed ourselves to switch off from the internet we have come to depend on so much and this added to the relaxation. There is also ample car parking space. Everything is powered by electricity and there is a coin meter which takes pound coins, we spent about 2 pounds a day.

As well as the amenities I'd also like to mention the service and friendliness we received from the Landlord. I lost my key in the first week and he came over in 20 minutes to give me a spare when i rang him. He stopped in twice just to check everything was alright with our stay. We broke a glass - he replaced it. There was a broken lamp from the previous tenants - he replaced it. We needed more wood for the stove - he delivered it. The fridge wasn't cold enough - he fixed it (this sounds like we are nightmare high maintenance tenants - we really aren't!!). Always friendly and keen for us to enjoy our stay. When did you last receive customer service like that in the UK?

We had a 15 month old and a 4 year old. I'd recommend our lodge over the others as it has a stream which flows right beside it into a small pond/lake with a raft and an island in the middle of it. My boy spent hours playing in it whilst I had the option of sitting on our veranda and being close enough to him to keep an eye on him. The others have access to the pond/lake as well but the closer proximity to our lodge was perfect.

The location in the lake district was also a bonus. Fantastic views, a pub in walking distance and a voluntary train stop for the local narrow gauge railway that the children loved. It's the less busy, less touristy and cheaper side of the lake district, away from Windermere/Consiton which will take 40minutes to an hour to get to by car. Longer than from other places in the lake district but this adds to the enjoyment as it's quieter and the physical geography is also way more spectacular. There's some great walks nearby if you don't want to get in your car. There's also some other great pubs/restaurants nearby a short drive away (5 within 3 miles). The lodge has 2 laminated walking maps detailing everything for you which was another nice little touch. Handy for walking up the hills or to the local waterfall - Stanley Falls.

Couple of last things to mention: The Hardknott pass - don't attempt this as a 'shortcut' or on a rainy/poor weather day, expecially on your initial journey to the lodge. Definitely one to be attempted once only on a good weather day when you are not in a rush. See the views and then vow never to attempt it again like everyone else that drives it. Lastly, the Fisherground campsite next door has no connection to these lodges (physically or by ownership). Thought I'd mention it as the reviews for it seem terrible to me. They just share the same initial entrance from the road and that's all.

In summary the best value 2 weeks holiday I've ever had to pay full price for. If only they could control how much it rains............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The value for money
Liked least: Nothing - it was all fantastic.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antix2013
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only it was closer”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful setting, child friendly grounds, swooping swifts, breathtaking vistas, wild orchids, bubbling brooks, waterfalls, tarns and rivers with the whistle of a steam train passing by. The accommodation was immaculate and thoughtfully equipped with everything from a tea towel to a comfortable mattress. Wonderful walks in all directions, long sunny days, friendly pubs with generous portions and a great selection of local ales. Simply paradise found.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The flies
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing