We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big gimmick, all show and no substance ...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Enclume

L'Enclume
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $125
Cuisines: European, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Big gimmick, all show and no substance ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We planned to stay one night in Jan 2013 celebrating my wife birthday. I booked the best room which is located above the café and dinner for both of us.

I was advised the dinner is going to be 17 course meals and it is fixed and no other options are available! I accepted it and also I did mention to them that this is a special occasion and it’s my wife birthday.

When we arrived after settling in our room we went to the restaurant where we were greeted by asking us if we would like to have some drinks while we are waiting for our table.

The meals for each course were smaller than finger size, it was dreadful, toward the end in one their small and hard to see desert which was included as part of the 17 course meal, they managed to put happy birthday, that was it.

Then, at the end, we were asked if we would like some coffee which we replied yes. To make a dreadful and long story short, on top of paying £90 plus per person, and paying over £195 for the room, we noticed they charged us £14.00 for the welcome drinks and we had to pay extra for the coffee as well.

Overall the 17 course meals which we were served were absolutely a big gimmick. A lot of show and no substance. We could have gone afterward that night and had a normal meal somewhere else.

The next day at the check out time I mentioned the moulds around the shower, they were oh, we will look into it, it must have just happened …. Moulds don’t just appear overnight …

We will never go back or recommend this place for any occasions to anyone, please note that there is big lack of customer service.

They have created a big hype through their close circle of people for this restaurant, it definitely was not an enjoyable experience for us and not to mention the high price, lack of enjoyable meal and customer service ratio.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,609
    228
    98
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Review of the restaurant NOT the hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The restaurant is amazing. The dining experience is unlike anything else you will ever have. The staff are attentive and friendly. It was pricey but can you name a cheap 2* restaurant? Were it not for the awful experience in the hotel I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique dinning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We cannot praise the restaurant and staff enough. This was our first visit to L'enclume and we visited for my wife's birthday. We let them know about allergies ahead of time and they create a personal menu for her.

While the food was extraordinary and too creative for words the atmosphere is inviting, charming an unpretentious. The atmosphere is a welcomed relief when looking for a place to relax and enjoy a celebration.

After 17 courses and 2.5 hours we had a dining experience of a lifetime. We did feel had for the next nights restaurant as regardless if what they served they could not come close.

Highly reccomend a visit to all foodies, we will certainly be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Force of Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This TWO michelin star restaurant is a real gem...

Understated atmosphere, attentive service and food that truly is a Force of Nature. None of the whizz and bangs of the other molecular gastronomers, no dry ice smoke or aromas at the table, but a sensitive and natural approach to flavours using the all the tools (and more) that are out there without having to flaunt them.

The 18 course taster menu is an adventure that lasts most of the night (we started at 7:30 and finished around 11:00!), course after course of mind blowing tastes and sensations presented beautifully and sized appropriately. To top this my wife is a vegetarian and her menu was a clever twist on my meat and fish-based one, so as long as you pre warn them you can enjoy a shared experience.

I'm sure it is rare to visit two michelin starred restaurants without feeling you are competing with the rich and privileged... However, L'Enclume's dress code is smart casual, so jeans, shirt, shoes fits the bill and this creates a great levelling, relaxed atmosphere.

I cannot recommend here enough, and If you add the delightful village of Cartmel to the recipe you can't lose!

So go on treat yourself!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank butlera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just treat yourself. This just may be the one of the best restaurants in the UK. Why? Excellent welcoming and comfortable service with the relaxed but knowledgeable staff. if you have visited other starred restaurants you can feel if your actually interrupting their day when you dine. So a perfect start. Food? you are looking down to cloud 9 from here. The only problem you will have with the six course tasting menu is deciding on 'the outstanding' dish...on 19th January they all were. Cod yolk sage cream pea shoots, salt and vinegar; or was it the valley venison or maybe; just go and argue this one later for yourself. PS cheeseboard a star too; had to dash and miss the coffee (my fault) but will be back. Wines by the glass to match and great to see a fine dry as a bone sherry selected within. Can't recommend it more.

DN Sale, Cheshire

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Enclume also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to L'Enclume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing