We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service & the perfect spot to stay right in the heart of Cartmel.”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Cartmel B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb service & the perfect spot to stay right in the heart of Cartmel.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautifully refurbed rooms, attentive and personal service along with great beers & food.

We stayed overnight in Cartmel and were arriving late in the evening due to traffic. We called ahead to check if we would be in time before the kitchens shut & the head barman took our order and held two meals back specially for us. A great end to a long day travelling! The massive double bed felt like a cloud, so also a great nights sleep.

Great local beer and a seriously personal service from Mike & Chris. At the Royal Oak You are really made to feel at home. They recommended we go across to The Kings Arms for a meal on our second night & the food is much more than your standard pub grub. Delicious, well priced and the same high standard of service as next door.

I would definitely recommend a stay here, or at the very least pop in for a pint and a bite to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timtagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    55
    7
    11
    21
See reviews for
49
96
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visited this inn with my husband and son. Had a very pleasant meal served by friendly staff. The inn had a constant stream of customers, which is generally a good sign of a place to eat. Food was served tastefully and although not a cheap pub meal, it was very good. Cartmel is a lovely village and this inn has some nice walks around it. After you have done your walk what better place to rest those weary legs and have a drink and some good food.

Room Tip: I had the steak and onion sandwich with chips and salad. My husband had the mushroom burger with ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Called at this pub on a visit to Cartmel today with my family. The sign outside says come and sit by the roaring fire...... we went in, the place was 2/3 full I would say. As we entered a man I presume to be the manager asked us how many and quite pushily tried to get us to sit down, I said we hadn;t been before and could we just have a look round, I asked where the fire was (as the place was cold and it was very cold outside), he said 'over there' gesturing towards a virtually empty hearth with two tiny burning embers. We sat at the table he was steering us towards, we were so cold we kept our coats on.
My Mother need to use the ladies at which he rolled his eyes as he wanted to take the drinks order, whilst we were waiting for her and choosing our food the girl behind the bar started a coughing fit, coughing and spluttering into her hands several times then proceeded to get glasses off the shelves, without washing her hands, and prepare drinks. At this point the manager came back to take the order and I mentioned this to him and he said he would mention it to her and stood with his pad whilst she carried on touching customers glasses, preparing drinks.At this point we left and will not be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boltongirl313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed in Cartmel for a week at Easter, as we did last year.

Good traditional pub, with cosy seating next to a roaring fire. Excellent choice of beer(try the local bottled Cartmel beer). We only ate here once, and just opted for simple starters of garlic mushrooms, and pizza's. Really enjoyed the food, and the waiting staff were warm, friendly and helpful. We also visited on Easter Sunday, the owners had laid on a brilliant Easter egg hunt for the kids with Easter activities to follow. Our son really enjoyed this. Overall a really good pub that won't disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longridge, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Staying the night prior to trail race next day decided to go for the full Cartmel experience! Started with a drink and meal in the Royal Oak.

A good choice as there was an excellent range of local ale, friendly and helpful staff and a very pleasant meal. Food was well prepared, plentiful and good value. I would recommend it as good pub food with an interesting Italian twist.

Seemed popular with locals and as there are not too many tables it is perhaps a good idea to get in early or a bit later.

We followed this up with a visit to the other three pubs within two hundred metres and a good night was had by all. Not so great for serious racing the next day though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffreyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

2 soft drinks, 2 main courses - £24. Great service, food was piping hot and the portions were more than decent. We couldn't ask for much more. The pizza was light and crispy, the pasta special was excellent, Well worth a visit. Oh, and our dog was made more then welcome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trampus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have you ever wanted to find a little rural village, with a cosy pub which has a roaring log fire? Well this is the place. We were only visiting Cartmel for 1 night and were staying at L'Enclume House but we called in to The Royal Oak to relax and have a quiet, cosy drink. It was perfect. Almost empty at the time but with a good selection of ales, newspapers and lots of comfy seats we could have settled in for the night. The lady behind the bar gave us a lovely big "hello!" when we walked in and talked us through each of the ales. We grabbed a newspaper each, settled by the fire and chilled. We didn't eat here but we saw another couple eating - it looked good and they were very complimentary when they left. With free Cloud wi-fi too it's got everything you need. We will visit Cartmel again this year and will definitely make a dinner reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treaclecheggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.9 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
967 reviews
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#8 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 15 in Cartmel
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Property: Royal Oak Inn
Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century Coaching Inn with accommodation in Double, Twin, or King Size bedrooms. All rooms recently refurbished to a high standard with en-suite shower rooms. Food served daily 12 noon - 10 pm, an infusion of British and Italian cuisines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Cartmel
Royal Oak Inn Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing