We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must!!!!!”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a must!!!!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went here for dinner the place is very quaint the staff very attentive now to the food my friend has allergies no wheat or dairy no problem the chef said and true his word it was done. This is the best pub food we have had we had a great evening and when we are in the area again we will be back good luck for the future

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    55
    7
    11
    22
See reviews for
50
96
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Sorry for delay, just registered.

After a recommendation,we paid a visit to The Kings Arms in Cartmel, for an evening meal, on hindsight we should of booked a table , but we were directed to the Royal Oak, which we were informed was under same ownership and used same menu and kitchen.

We arrived at approximately 1910 on thursday 16th August.

We were given a warm reception and shown to a table in the corner by Jonathan , who we discovered to be the manager.

From this point in time our visit just went downhill and things went from bad to worse.

We Ordered Bread platter, followed by 3 x rump steaks.

We saw Jonathan using his radio to place our orders, several minutes later he returned to our table to apologise and said there was no steak available and he had not been informed. Bearing in mind that although itis high season this was a thursday evening and even staff admitted not THAT busy. He had to respond to kitchen asking what we wanted and he was forced to say to kitchen that the customer had not made a second choice, as if anyone ever does.
When our bread platter eventually arrived, we had a shot glass each of oil and balsamic vinegar, small quantity, but if thats what you serve fair enough, a few minutes later a party of 3 who arrived at least 20 minutes after us were served the same bread platter , however they had a ramekin of each oil and vinegar, as we did not have a `dippable` container we asked for side plates which took over 5 minutes to arrive.

As we were finishing the bread, a member of staff approached and asked if the bread was OK, we said yes at which point he started to clear away the dishes, even though one of our party was still eating!!!! We assumed this was because our next course was ready to be served, Alas no! and we sat waiting for a long time.
whilst I , Dave, went out for a breath of fresh air to calm down one of the females in the party aproached a member of staff to ask what was happening with our meal, he said he would check, and came to our table.
At this point in time I asked to speak to the manager, and informed Jonathan that I was on the point of walking. The only thing that stopped me from going elsewhere at this point in time, was it was almost 8.30, when I understood most restaurants in the area stop taking orders. I was Open and Honest with Jonathan and asked him straight, had I `pissed him off` somehow.

Jonathan checked several times as to where our order was and was advised that the chef was serving up a large party in the kings and ours would be next within 5 minutes, OK we thought !
About 10 minutes later A waitress arrived with 3 meals, and took them to the other party who had the bread!!!!!!!!!!

Ours eventually arrived, after Jonathan said `I'm going to over to get it` our meal arrived AFTER 9PM.

I have to say when the food arrived starter and main course, everything we had was very nice, and tasted fresh, however due to the extended wait and the stress 2 of the party had lost their appetite and could not do justice to the meal.


Jonathan gave us a complementary cheese board as way of an apology, which once again was vey nice.

This was our final day in the area, returning home on the friday, and was meant to be a nice evening to finish our holiday.

As reflected in your reviews on Tripadvisor, The kings Arms appears to be your flagship, and the Royal Oak a second class establishment.

You have a great manager in Jonathan but through no fault of his he is being forced, by our experience, to run a second class establishment. There is no excuse for this as one of the main factors in running such an establishment is communications, and I saw several staff members using the radio on a regular basis.


I sent this as an email to the owner of the establishment and he did not even bother to reply which i feel was in keeping with our experiance

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bayhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Arms C, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your contribution, I am sorry that the service didn't live up to your expectations, however, what I fail to understand is why you have taken so long to write this review, some 5 months after your visit? Maybe, some of the points mentioned have been embellished over this time period?
It was unfortunate we were forced into using the Kings Arms Kitchen since the previous landlord of The Royal Oak had practically destroyed the interior of the pub and kitchens a few weeks earlier, and we were in the process of refitting, you were rightly informed of this when you arrived.
I am pleased to inform you that The Royal Oak now have their own kitchen and are producing fabulous food, as witnessed by other reviewers. Perhaps you will give us a second chance if you visit Cartmel again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a great long weekend at Ford House.
The Royal Oak was superb for lunch after a long bevvie induced sleep.
Couldn't wish for friendlier staff! Good local beers, well kept bar (not sticky).
Thanks very much.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent two days in Cartmel. Very quaint place with a choice of excellent eateries. Ate at two of the establishments available and I felt that for value and quality, the The royal Oak was excellent. great service and great food. I know you may have heard a variety of recommedations, but I have been to many different establishments across the world and this is very good. Please enjoy.

Room Tip: Didn't stop in b&b just a review for the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoldDisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Oak for two nights on a Groupon deal. It's a quirky old building without a straight line anywhere. Louise and Darren (licensees) are delightful, friendly and helpful people. They serve a range of excellent cask beers and the food is very good. Unfortunately the experience was spoiled by casual service.
We opted to dine at 7. The waitress came to take our orders at 7.20 (The pub wasn't very busy.) We got our starters at 7.45. We had an untimed wait for our main courses and finished our meal at 9.30!
If you're tolerant and patient you'll love it, otherwise............

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Proper English pub serving good honest food and well kept beer. Good selection of wines and all reasonably priced. They were fully booked when I last stayed ( March 2012) but still managed to find me an excellent room. Excellent locally sourced steak and a good hearty breakfast. Cartmell boasts one of the best restaurants in the world ( L'Enclune ) but guess where the Chefs drink after service? A great family-run pub that won't let you down, with friendly staff and a characterfull landlord and landlady. Reasonably priced with good , friendly mix of locals and tourists, a night at the bar is an enjoyable experience. Don't think you can out- drink the landlord; I tried and failed miserably!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The beer was good.The food excellent ,Staff helpful and friendly .Our party enjoyed every aspect of this pub.Parking was a bit of a pain but that would indicate how popular the place was.What more do you want in a pub.Enjoy

Room Tip: Get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo44Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.9 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
268 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
495 reviews
8.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#9 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Property: Royal Oak Inn
Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century Coaching Inn with accommodation in Double, Twin, or King Size bedrooms. All rooms recently refurbished to a high standard with en-suite shower rooms. Food served daily 12 noon - 10 pm, an infusion of British and Italian cuisines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Cartmel
Royal Oak Inn Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing