We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a wonderful setting.”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service in a wonderful setting.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

When staying at the Royal Oak we rented two rooms, both at a single occupancy rate, which turned out to be a little challenging initially as approval had to be gained from the owner, by me, via email, before my telephone booking was accepted.

Once we arrived the service was good. We were shown to our rooms and when the heating was a little low someone came up straightaway to check the radiator and turn up the boiler. It would have been good to have been informed about breakfast timings on arrival but the landlady made sure she passed on this information when she met us.

The room was clean, the shower was on the small side and the bed was incredibly comfortable. There was a little bit of mould on on ceiling above my shower but nothing to be concerned about.

Breakfast was prompt, tasty and varied. The landlady was keen to point out that she used local ingredients and the black pudding was especially good.

The location was excellent for us as we were visiting the nearby L'enclume restaurant. Although the square on which the pub is situated is very busy and parking was not easy there is plenty of parking at the racecourse which is a three minute walk.

Great stay and would definitely return when visiting Cartmel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHall_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    54
    5
    11
    19
See reviews for
46
91
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Went on a special offer and chose our meal from a restricted menu-but what we had was well cooked,tasty and well presented.The staff were extremely friendly , the service was excellent and the log fire most welcome on a chilly evening.We live locally but it was our first visit and we shall certainly go there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlange, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Best pie I've had in ages! Wonderful ales and cosy fire! Very friendly staff. Only wish we'd booked in to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I came up to Cartmel with two friends on a saturday morning in early December to do some walking, and have a chilled night away. We found the Royal Oak Inn to be the perfect place for a getaway. When we arrived, we received a warm welcome, and were served with complimentary tea and coffee next to the real log fire. Later in the day, after our walk, we sat round the same log fire, sipping wine, enjoying the traditional atmosphere, feeling that we had got away from it all.
The accommodation was spacious and airy and added to the traditionla feel with beamed ceilings and slightly sloping floors. I thought breakfast was superb , with everything cooked to perfection. I would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Oak Hotel at the beginning of November and had an awful experience. The Hotel room was cramped to say the least. We stayed in the Hotel for 3 nights and at no point did anyone enter the room - the beds were never made, the bin was never empied, we never got fresh towels, we also took drinks up from the bar on a couple of occasions and there weren't cleared and we never had milk to go with the complimentary coffee and tea in the room. We woke one morning to Eminem blasting from downstairs.

Every morning the breakfast changed (in terms of what was included in the full English) and there was only one day that I would class it as good. We did eat in the bar one night and that was only average.

Parking was also a nightmare.

My advice avoid staying there, however visit Cartmel as it is gorgeous!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Murphyspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Fantastic traditional English pub. Warm staff and fantastic food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThailandBeachbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

4 of us have just stayed @ The Royal Oak Inn & we all agreed it was a fab & friendly place to stay, the bar staff were lovely & the owner made us feel very welcome / comfortable.
We ate lunch there, 3 of us had the burgers which were really big / tasty & came with real chips - fab!!! The other had a jacket potato & it was that big 2 could of easily shared!!
Later in the night we had last orders with the owner & staff & really enjoyed being in their company. Both rooms were lovely, clean, tidy & warm.
Breakfast was served up to 9.30am & we were on the last minute (after the night before) but it wasn't a problem for the staff, they were very relaxed & told us there was no rush, the full breakfast / toast etc was lovely.
If we go back to Cartmel (which is more than likely) we'll definatley stay there again!!! Thanks to all the staff! x

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flockit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.9 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 14 in Cartmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Property: Royal Oak Inn
Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century Coaching Inn with accommodation in Double, Twin, or King Size bedrooms. All rooms recently refurbished to a high standard with en-suite shower rooms. Food served daily 12 noon - 10 pm, an infusion of British and Italian cuisines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Cartmel
Royal Oak Inn Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing