We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a holiday in the lakes”
other travelers have booked this property
Bracken Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bracken Lodge
The deck The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Bracken Lodge
The deck
The lounge
The lounge
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Aynsome Manor Park Lake
Aynsome Manor Park
View of Cartmel
The square in Cartmel
Cartmel racecourse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
364cheryl...
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for a holiday in the lakes”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have stayed in hotels and lodges in Cartmel for the last 8 years and this was by far the best place. The lodge has everything you could ask for in a holiday home.. The wardens were very helpful and although we came exceptionally early let us store all the food in the fridge and leave our cases.. The lodge is bright and has plenty of room for 4 adults. It had everything we needed including a much needed washer/dryer as we got drenched at the races .It is a short walk to the village where there are plenty of places to eat and drink. It is a lovely place to stay, it is homely and comfortable and a perfect base for the lakes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're delighted you found everything you needed at the lodge during your stay and are pleased you felt it was better than other properties you've used in the area. It's just a pity we can't guarantee good weather for our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lenwicken...
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived at Bracken Lodge at 4:15 was very dissatisfied & disappointed. Found that the previous reviews & photographs did not live up to our expectations as everything was in a very bad & poor condition?? We didn't even unpack our bags & I got straight on the phone to Barry to let him know that we would be leaving the very next morning as if we could have got in earlier I wouldn't have even unpacked the car & made the 225 mile journey straight back home!! We left at 8:30 the next morning when his partner called when we were already on the M6 making our way home to arrange a visit at 4:00 that afternoon which was too late by then!! Had an email from Barry to say that they agreed that there was some merit in our reasoning& we received a cheque for recompense from them as I told him that being pensioners it was a lot to pay for a holiday that did not live up to our expectations!! We let Barry & Janet know of our disappointment & that will stay between us!! We would go back to Cartmel but next time we will stay in one of the hotels in the area!! I'm sorry to put a negative review on here but that is what reviews are all about!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
We regret that the lodge did not meet with your expectations. We felt the issues you raised were relatively minor and could have been easily been put right the following day. We were disappointed your early departure did not give us an opportunity to rectify matters, however, as a gesture of goodwill we arranged to give you a partial refund. These are the first negative comments we have had on the lodge and are not in keeping with the many other reviews that have been left by guests. We regret that this style of self-catering accommodation was not to your liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gildavid
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A return visit to this splendid lodge.”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Bracken Lodge is perfect for a stay in the southern Lakes and surrounding areas. It is spotless, well equipped, perfect position with complete privacy. Cartmel is a five minute drive and is such a pretty enchanting village, we parked on the racecourse car park which is perfect for walking in the forest, we took our dog who loves it on there. The King's Arms provided lovely food and the dog could go too in any area that didn't have carpet. Unsworth's yard is great for relaxing with a drink and watching the world go by. Nearby Grange over Sands with its Victorian promenade is lovely and lots of coffee shops there are very dog friendly. The steamer to Bowness is well worth a trip as is Fell Foot with its beautiful walks and a paddle in Windermere is you wish.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anneludwi...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bracken Lodge”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Really enjoyed our peaceful stay at Bracken Lodge. Nicely furnished on a lovely site. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in October.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigladgar...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little stay.”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Really nice place and we really enjoyed our stay, it was home from home. Was well equipped. The only thing I would say is the 100% need a bigger TV not the tiny thing they have as tried to watch movie with kids and couldn't really see. Still will go back in future for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRS MARGA...
2 reviews
“Braken Lodge”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Beautiful Lodge with every comfort you will need , spotlessly clean ,
The Lodge just made our weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're always pleased to receive such positive feedback from our guests and we look forward to welcoming you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing