We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely lodge”
other travelers have booked this property
Bracken Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bracken Lodge
The deck The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Bracken Lodge
The deck
The lounge
The lounge
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Aynsome Manor Park Lake
Aynsome Manor Park
View of Cartmel
The square in Cartmel
Cartmel racecourse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blabs2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Everything you need is in this well laid out, well furnished, comfortable lodge. Clear instructions for heating and hot water.
Lovely area to explore.
Can't fault it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gildavid
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from spending time in this beautiful and very well equipped lodge and can't praise it enough. It was spotless and so well maintained we couldn't believe our luck, there was even a towel and treats left for our dog too. The setting is so tranquil and and such a great base for visiting the area. We shall be returning very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne O
1 review
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Home, from home, beautiful lodge, peaceful and tranquil surroundings - PERFECT!!. Very well equipped, quaint little village 10 minutes walk with lovely country pubs and good food. Locals very friendly. Would definitely recommend staying here, we will again.... Thank you for letting us stay. Corinne, Keith, Abbi and Jordan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge and it's surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're always pleased our guests enjoy their visit to Cartmel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blabs2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a lovely, spotlessly clean lodge. It has everything you need. The grounds are beautiful. Cartmel is very close, as are many lovely little towns and villages. I agree with others who commented that they would reluctantly recommend Bracken Lodge. It would be best kept a secret!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alambrae
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed in this lodge it's absolutely gorgeous. Every thing you could want in a holiday home us catered for. Will definately be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're always pleased when our guests want to return. We must be down something right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
799annema...
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The setting of the lodge was peaceful and idealic.”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The lodge was stunning, well equipped, right down to the dog treats, bowl and doggy towel. We visited Cartmel, took in all it's history, and lovely shops. Lake Windermere was beautiful, well worth a visit. Had a lovely night, with our dog Ruby, in the Pig and Whistle, in Cartmel. Thanks for a wonderful few days

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge was very spacious
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
thanks for the kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olly1961
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat for the weekend !!”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Third stay at Bracken Lodge and it wont be the last.
Lovely modern lodge in superb location.
Don't really want to share how good it is as it could be booked for next time I visit.
Love it !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
It's great to hear how much our guests enjoy staying at the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing