We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage and location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bridgelands Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bridgelands Cottage
The Sitting Room looking into the private garden The Large Kichen Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Bridgelands Cottage
The Sitting Room looking into the private garden
The Large Kichen Dining Room
The Kichen
The Roaring Log Fire
The King Size Bedroom
The King Size Luxury Leather Sleigh Bed
The Twin Bedroom
The Single Bedroom
The Single Bedroom
Cartmel Village
Cartmel Village
Nearby Morecambe Bay
Elterwater & The Langdale Pikes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janets196...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage and location.”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed he for four nights at the beginning of January, after hours of searching the internet we chose this cottage because of its location and how good it looked and we were not dissapointed.
The cottage is in a small courtyard with similar properties making it feel extremely safe and secluded yet only a minutes walk to the first local pub in the area And village shop.
The log fire in winter is just lovely to sit and curl up in front of and the whole cottage is well eqipped for everything we needed.
The whole cottage has such a homely feel and was immaculate in every room.
Cartmel is a two minute drive away and boasts some absolutely stunning pubs, we dined at the rose and crown and this was our favourite of our stay, friendly staff and great food, we also dined at the engine room but this is no where near as good so I would advise the rose and crown if dining. The pig and whistle also very good and the kings arms. We travelled to Windermere and Kendal, both only 30 minutes away but in all honestly we preferred just staying in cartmel and the cottage as it was that lovely.
The management were also great in all correspondence with them.
The only thing I would recommend if you go is to take a torch as the lane to the cottage is pitch black, but there is a light as you enter the actual cottage.
Fabulous stay can't recommend enough. If you have any hesitations about this cottage don't! It's fabulous.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
Thank you Roxanne for taking time to write such a great review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bridgelands Cottage and the Cartmel area so much.

Just to clarify to readers, the Rose & Crown and the Engine are the 2 pubs located within 2 minutes’ walk of the cottage.
The Pig & Whistle and the Kings Arms are 2 of the excellent pubs in Cartmel.

We’re so fortunate to have so many good pubs so close to the cottage and many of our guests eat out in a different pub or restaurant every night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lack of Logs”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

It was a lovely cottage in a beautiful area however was disappointed upon arrival late Friday night to the cottage as no logs or coal were left to have the two roaring fires stated as free in the cottage manual and website. In turn this left us having to spend £20 at the local shop the next day, meaning for half our stay we couldn't enjoy the fire which was the main reason we booked the cottage. Also I feel the 10am checking out time is a little early if like us you are arriving Friday night after work, as a suggestion for future guests maybe it could put later to 12 to improve customer satisfaction. The kitchen and bathroom appliances were good.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Dear Guest,

We’ve never offered or advertised free logs and coal. Logs and coal are pre-bookable on our web site, on The Holiday Lettings web site and on the Trip Advisor web site at £6 per basket.

When we send the final confirmation email to guests who book via The Holiday Lettings web site and on the Trip Advisor web site we ask guests that have not ordered logs if they want to do so and offer to deduct the £6 off the damage deposit.

We asked you this same question but you didn’t not respond.

We offer gorgeous cottages that guests love. We get dozens of guests stay with us on a regular basis and we offer a great service to our guests. We have never had a complaint of this nature.

I advertise 2 cottages on Holiday Lettings/Trip Advisor and have 16 five star reviews and 3 four star reviews.
Most guests that stay in self-catering properties are aware that 10am is the normal departure time. We’d love to offer guests a 12 o clock departure time but then the cottage wouldn’t be clean and ready for the next guests.
When we sent you the directions and key details we also advised clearly on the email that the departure time was 10am.

We are extremely unhappy that someone has left this malicious review and have asked Holiday Lettings/Trip Advisor to remove it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica P
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home. Really beautiful cottage in beautiful area, would highly recommend.”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have just arrived home from an amazing stay at bridgeland cottage, I had done no research into the area and just booked this cottage as a last minute get away so wasn't really expecting much, but was so pleasantly surprised!
The cottage is very homely, you can tell a lot of time and effort has gone into it, full of little touches that give the place a very comforting feel. The fire was so cosy.
The cottage is dog friendly but you couldn't tell any dogs had been there, we used the baby gate provided to keep our doggies downstairs which came in handy. Beds were comfy and wifi easy to connect to.
Great walks for dogs very close by, there was lots of information left for us of local things to do and walks to go on, my favourite place was cartmel, such a beautiful quaint village I absolutely fell in love with the place can't wait to come back!
Bottom line, Amazing cottage, Very clean, Perfect location, cannot recommend this cottage enough, thanks for a wonderful stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you Jessica. We love to read how much people enjoy staying in our cottage, village and area.
We also absolutely love Cartmel and think it’s the best village in Cumbria and the Lake District now.
Thank you again and we look forward to being able to welcome you all back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2014
Thanks Roberta. Your comments and thoughts on our cottage, village and area are very much appreciated. We personally get a lot of pleasure hearing how much our guests have enjoyed their holiday.
Holidays are so important in todays hectic, often stressful lives and it's even more important for holidays to deliver the satisfaction and relaxation people need.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cartmel Valley and the Lake District. Thank again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beverley...
Thorney, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A fantastic cottage with everything that you could need when staying away from home. Beautifully kept, with crisp clean bed linen, lovely towels and a wonderful feel to the whole house. A lovely quiet location, yet not far from ameneties should you want them.
Overall a lovely place to stay that we would happily go back to. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the cottage felt like home. The dishwasher came in pretty handy too!
Liked least: The sloping ceilings in the master bedroom. A minor price to pay, but would not be suitable for back sufferers
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thanks Beverley. It was lovely to meet you and your family and to hear 1st hand how much you enjoyed your holiday. It was also great to read your comments in our guest book and even better to read them here on Trip Advisor.
Your feedback is hugely appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fronkster...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent cottage in a lovely area”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was lovely, very comfortable with everything supplied. The engine public house was literally just around the corner and provided an excellent selection of local beers and food. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Overall an excellent weekend spent in a lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2014
Thank You Frank.
We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just enjoyed a great long weekend at the cottage along with Hattie our labradoodle. What a lovely location and cosy cottage this is, with nearby walks and other useful tips provided as well. Plenty to explore in the area without the crowds and a good choice of pubs. Rose & Crown particularly recommended. We look forward to going back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2014
Thanks Tim. As you know we were really pleased that you enjoyed the cottage, the village, the pubs and the area to the full during your short break.
Hope the crossing back to Jersey wasn't too choppy!
We look forward to being able to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing