We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavendish Arms
Ranked #2 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Swinton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“walking break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here on a two night groupon deal with friends. The bedrooms are clean with fresh towels etc. The rooms are quite old and creaky which adds to the character. Breakfasts are delicious with plenty of choice. Did not have evening meal as menu was very expensive. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vivanbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    193
    64
    28
    13
See reviews for
41
386
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

En route from Wroxeter to back home we booked a night at the Cavendish Arms and were given rooms in the Annexe 100 metres away overlooking The Square. Both rooms were stylish, modern, very well appointed and spacious. We had excellent evening meals and breakfasts in the main hotel but there was not a lot of room between the tables. Cartmel is a quaint village, with tables and seats round the Square and ample extra car parking if necessary at the nearby racecourse.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is the first review I have written as I never really bother, but the Cavendish arms is really something special, we stayed here for 2 nights and had room 1 with the four poster bed! Richard the owner is an extremely nice guy and nothing is ever too much, the rooms are spotless and the atmosphere of the village is just great, we took our 2 lurchers and it couldn't of been better, cartmel race course is close by for walking dogs and also 2 lovely pubs where you can sit out, to the rear there is a nice little stream where you can feed the ducks and sit out. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamBircumshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place ! The village of cartmel is superb. Very quaint and cute and all things nice! Two lovely pubs in the town square and we sat out in the sun relaxing. The hotel lies next to a small stream and we sat on private picnic tables. The hotel is approx 450 years old and the doorways and hallways are on the slant and rickety (as expected) - we found the place fascinating! The management team were welcoming and warm particularly to our lovely pooch woody who was also welcome!! Room ok..small window and was very warm bit i cannot really fault this place. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chioggia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Myself, my husband and our one year old daughter stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. The whole place was spotlessly clean and our room (room 2) was lovely with more than enough room for the travel cot. We heard no noise at night despite the pub being underneath us. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was superb quality! Staff were delightful, very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food in the pub was delicious and of a very high standard. We would definitely stay here again. This little Inn is a credit to Richard, the owner.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tink_2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in room 10, beautiful room with balcony. We ate in the pub and can highly recommend the steak and sea bass absolutely gorgeous. All the staff were fantastic and very jolly and helpful, made our stay really enjoyable. We enjoyed drinks by the brook at the back of the hotel with the a lovely spot of sunshine- perfect!! Overall a little gem perfect for a night or 2 for relaxtion, great food and fantastic service. In an ideal spot just off cartmel square. Will definately be back (ignore any negative reviews, the staff work so hard and are very attentive it's hard for me to belive anyone would come away unhappy).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynzbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have just come back from one night stay myself partner and 2 children
Great welcome yes car park but tight on entering
Room over road above shop perfect English quiet room
Went back cavendish drinks before our meal
Lovely meal fab service best steak pie n sticky toffee pudding I ever had
Also partner had 21 day hung steak lush
Kids ate burger n fish fingers all great beauitful presented
Back room good nights sleep
Breakfast excellent salmon lovely sausages great
I lovely find would def go back
Thanks to all who work there
also all locals friendly popped into shop nxt door bought few bits for our home a lovely man
Job well done cavendish x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.3 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Arms

Property: Cavendish Arms
Address: Cavendish Street, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cavendish Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cavendish Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Arms Hotel Cartmel
Cavendish Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing