We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavendish Arms
Nearby Hotels
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Engine Inn(Cartmel)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Inn(Cartmel)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
285
212
76
33
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
285
212
76
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealperfect englishthe pubsteak and ale piefull englishhis teambeautiful villagethe main squaresteeped in historyold buildingnight staysmall roomlow ceilingsopen fireevening mealboth nightsbar area
Filter
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 623 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I both stayed and ate at the Cavendish Arms while visiting Cartmel over the bank holiday weekend, so got a good feel for the pub as a whole. It is worth mentioning that we were there during Cartmel Races, and as such the village was heaving with race goers for most of the time, which meant that everything was under a lot of strain due to abnormally high amount of people. We only have one negative really and that was the room we initially got when we arrived, as the room (in the pub) was very small, the bed extremely hard and the shower rather temperamental. Having spent one restless night in the room, we decided to mention it to the proprietor and he immediately (and without any fuss) moved us to a much more acceptable room. The second room we had was above the shop Perfect English and had obviously been redone recently and was very comfortable, though if you were a couple who wanted to go to bed early then avoid race weekends as pub noise is high. The breakfasts were very good indeed and featured local suppliers wherever possible and this too is mirrored in the evening menu also. We ate dinner there on the Sunday night and had a very enjoyable meal, which was simple yet delicious. The thing that struck us more than anything else during our stay was the staff; the proprietor was extremely friendly and helpful in every dealing we had with him and this was clearly something that had rubbed off on the staff too. All in all, the stay was very nice and although there were a few issues they were dealt with in an extremely professional way and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Welcoming atmosphere in an historic setting that's full of character. Well run yet friendly and helpful at the same time. It was excellent to savour the build up to race day in the heart of the village and also to see the effort and hard work that goes into making a day like that work well. Breakfast was substantial, of high quality and ingrediants sourced locally and that dedication to local suppliers extended to a great selection of real ales which were served with knowledge and pride. We loved it so much we booked for next year before we left. The car park entrance is tight though!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here after visiting L'enclume. I knew it was a character B&B after reading reviews on TA, so wasnt surprised at the "olde worlde" decor and the creaking and uneven floors - although a new stairs and landing carpet had been fitted recently.
I also remembered it was a very tight fit to get through to the carpark at the rear and did manage to get through without damaging the car!
We were given room 1 which had the four poster, so very happy with that - the only small thing I didnt like was the grouting in the shower room that could have done with sprucing up somewhat.
The staff were extremely pleasant when we had drinks on our return from our meal and again at breakfast.
Breakfast was hot and tasty and enjoyed.
Richard checked us out and gave us some useful information for visiting places around and about. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillyTPreston_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I've stayed at 'Cavendish Arms' for the second time and i think it is a unique place to stay.
Rooms are small but cozy, everything looks (and is) so old and classical. Nowhere in big cities you could find a particular place like this. The only downside is the price: £ 97 per night sound a bit expensive.
Cartmel is such a beautiful village with character. The cheese shop is wonderful and the owner is so helpful. Give it a go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinFarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night after eating at the nearby L'Enclume. This pub is well located in the heart of Cartmel and perfect if you're eating at one of Simon Rogan's nearby establishments.

The welcome was excellent as was the service and food at breakfast. The decor is rather tired and generally the place needs a bit of refurbishment, but I'd stay here again. We've visited previously to eat dinner here and that good too; several years ago, but still under the same management.

Recommended, if you're not too fussy about tip-top decoration.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews