We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage perfect for families”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house Glendene and the roses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front of house
Glendene and the roses
Large log burning fire
Large country range cooker
the private garden
the private garden
Nearby Yew Tree Barn Cafe with a beautiful view over the fields
The beautiful fells for walking nearby
'Harry's Cafe' at the lovely Yew Tree Barn
Lovely modern bathroom with great views
The wonderful Crown pub, just a 2 minute walk away, with great food and live jazz music at weekends
Views from the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lg123439
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage perfect for families”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I got back yesterday from a long weekend stay at Glendale with my husband, parents and 2 young children. The cottage is lovely - bigger than the photos suggest. Very well equipped for young families with stairgates, highchairs, travel cots, children's cutlery/ crockery and a cupboard of toys. A lovely weekend in a lovely location would definitely stop again if visiting the area, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Many thanks Lizzie... so pleased you all had a lovely time and enjoyed Glendene, especially when travelling with children. Many thanks for taking the time to leave the lovely review and hope you will come back again..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathryn n
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glendene stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a fabulous stay over for 3 nights in Glendene and made some great memories of the lakes with this snug home as our base. Beautiful, well equipped kitchen, large lounge area. All the bedrooms were comfy and restful. A very tranquil spot away from the tourist hustle and bustle. Nice to find some retro dvds too and a selection of books if you forget yours and still have energy to read :) ... And a gorgeous bathroom for that well earned soak at the end of a long day...
the local pub grub was satisfying and portion sizes good. Get there early to avoid disappointment. Luckily we had some pizzas in the fridge as a back up plan... and the cooker heats up very quickly so dinner was served in no time.
Would recommend to all my friends and family... thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarala88
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place for holiday apartment”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We six people had fun in Glendene cottage during our stay! We find the apartment tidy and well maintained as advertised. Homely environment and in a perfect location. Definitely recommend Glendene for others too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspirati...
1 review
“Beautiful, fully equipped cottage”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Glendene Cottage is nestled away in a tiny hamlet just off the A590 within easy access for all Lake District attractions, yet peaceful and quiet . Ideally located for our bank holiday visit to Cartmel races.
Glendene cottage was clean, welcoming and much larger than we ever expected. Everything you could possibly think of was within reach. Large bathroom, comfy sitting room, a secluded garden.
We will definitely recommend Glendene to family and friends

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so happy to hear you had a lovely time and enjoyed Glendene. Hope you will come again, all the best
Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dhara V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely house great location”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

great house in a wonderful location. Tania the host is really responsive and communicative, and she was super helpful in ensuring we got my sons doll back when he forgot it at the house on departure!! highly reccomend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroljoyc...
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage was advertised win two bathrooms when it clearly one has one and an additional toilet, not what I signed up for? Carpets were very badly stained.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only one bathroom and didn't get tv or internet connection .
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2016
So sorry Carol - especially after all of our exchanges on this matter ( just to note the house is advertised with one bathroom and one downstairs toilet)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing