We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
Frontage of Woodland Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Frontage of Woodland Cottage
Woodland Cottage garden Woodland Cottage under a blanket of snow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Frontage of Woodland Cottage
Woodland Cottage garden
Woodland Cottage under a blanket of snow
Reflections
Woodland Cottage Living Room with fireplace
Kitchen are at Woodland Cottage
Single bedroom at Woodland Cottage
Woodland Cottage garden to the east
View to the south west from the living room
View over Cartmel Valley to the north
Woodland Cottage at Christmas time
Reflections
The nearest neighbours
King size 'forest' bed made from our own garden wood,  with Hypnos mattress
Two sofas in the living room
Yew wood in the king size bed post
View of the garden to the south east
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda S
Sale
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Garden”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Woodland cottage has everything you could need. The only suggestion I would make is that the quilt cover didn't fit the bed, it was far too small.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2014
We welcome this comment, and will look into it as with any issue raised by guests, though we are confused because it's a double duvet on a double bed. It's possible the wrong size (larger) cover was used in error. That said, we are planning to replace the double bed with a king size one - with a king size duvet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_Ne...
Cartmel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tranquil weekend”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We spent a lovely relaxing weekend at this cottage which is situated in a very peaceful and beautiful location. The cottage is extremely well equipped and very cosy. We chose the cottage as it is all on one level because my mother has mobility problems, this worked well and we had no problems at all. Access is easy with parking at the side of the house. The garden is huge and has lovely views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Some better garden furniture would have been nice
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
As for the shortage of garden furniture, there is a four person picnic table which folds to a two person garden bench: this may have been folded when these guests were staying. Anyway, we have since brought in two more garden chairs to cover this or any friends who may pop by.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Reviewed January 13, 2012 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool
Reviewed December 10, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LONDON
Reviewed November 18, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashire
Reviewed November 7, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet, large garden & country walks
Liked least: kitchen taps could be easier to use.
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing