We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue, perfect location and good value fine dining.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Ranked #5 of 15 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect venue, perfect location and good value fine dining.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We've now stayed at the Priory twice for dining experiences and short breaks. The first time was at New year and we had an amazing dinner, and the second time was the weekend after Valentines and stayed in the huge family room and had a fantastic dinner for two for just £150 - not bad given the dinner started with Champagne and canapes and just got better thereafter. The breakfasts are very good, there are pastries available most of the day and the hotel has a B&B feel rather than it being a bit stuffy. The hosts are fabulous and we always feel like we're at a home from home. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Family room is best but please don't book it because we want it for ourselves - not that we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryDryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    43
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
120
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife have bought a static caravan in between Cartmel and Grange and decided to pop up for a couple of days in January as the site doesnt open till March. We choose The Priory for our overnight accomodation, located in the square we easily parked and checked into reception with ease, a very young lady courtiously took us to our room ( room 5 ) and gave us the run down on dinner, breakfast times etc....the room is absolutely gorgeous, we've stayed in some premium hotels all over the World but this really can hold itself high against any of them. We had booked dinner and the food was simply fantastic, service 1st class and after dinner drinks in the cosy lounge....
The bedroom was lovely, spacious, the bed itself was very comfortable and a good sleep was had by us both.
The breakfast equalled the dinner the evening before and checking out was quick and simple.
Gary, his wife and the young hostess ( about to embark off to New Zealand ) along with David the chef really make this place what it is.....please dont change anything guys !!!!!
See you all soon
Chris & Paula King

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobyscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great food , lovely warm rooms , beautiful hotel in the square in Cartmel ! Friendly helpful staff ! Nothing too much trouble !!! Even in the worst weather conditions , can't wait for my next visit, mind you the food was so good you might need bigger clothes to return home !!

Room Tip: Choose front of hotel and watch the people in the square plough through the snow romantic !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HELEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay here but it won't be our last. We stayed in room 7 which is right at the top of the house, when we arrived it was quite cool, we prefer rooms to be cold so it didn't bother us, although we did turn the radiator on. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Staff and owners all very friendly. Breakfast was tasty, especially the bacon and sausage. It's in a wonderful location, we stayed because we had a reservation at l'enclume, which is probably less than a minutes walk away, I would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireallywanttogothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the first moment of the booking phone call, until the minute we left, all the staff at the Priory were more than helpful and very very polite. We were given room 5 upon arrival, which was not only tastefully decorated, but also impressively clean. The bed was comfortable and during the cold spell we are having, lovely and warm.
Downstairs, in the bar and restaurant, the service was equally as good, and the homemade steak pie, is truly an art and a must for any visitors.
During the evening, the owners, made it there goal to provide as homely and comfortable an atmosphere as they could.
All in all, no faults whatsoever and we will be back, probably very soon.

All the best and keep up the great work.

Paul and LIn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAULASPDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A great hotel with friendly staff, super clean rooms and amazing service. Really enjoyed our stay, it was a shame we weren't able to stay longer. It was our first time in Cartmel and we shall certainly be going again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very good boutique hotel, unpretentious, wonderful hosts! Incredibly clean bedrooms, which is something always appreciated. The only thing is there is no window in some bedrooms which is a little unsettling if not used to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asheya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
381 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
2.2 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
486 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel Cartmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel Cartmel

Property: Priory Hotel Cartmel
Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Priory Hotel Cartmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Priory Hotel Cartmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Cartmel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing