We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Ranked #6 of 15 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay here but it won't be our last. We stayed in room 7 which is right at the top of the house, when we arrived it was quite cool, we prefer rooms to be cold so it didn't bother us, although we did turn the radiator on. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Staff and owners all very friendly. Breakfast was tasty, especially the bacon and sausage. It's in a wonderful location, we stayed because we had a reservation at l'enclume, which is probably less than a minutes walk away, I would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireallywanttogothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the first moment of the booking phone call, until the minute we left, all the staff at the Priory were more than helpful and very very polite. We were given room 5 upon arrival, which was not only tastefully decorated, but also impressively clean. The bed was comfortable and during the cold spell we are having, lovely and warm.
Downstairs, in the bar and restaurant, the service was equally as good, and the homemade steak pie, is truly an art and a must for any visitors.
During the evening, the owners, made it there goal to provide as homely and comfortable an atmosphere as they could.
All in all, no faults whatsoever and we will be back, probably very soon.

All the best and keep up the great work.

Paul and LIn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAULASPDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A great hotel with friendly staff, super clean rooms and amazing service. Really enjoyed our stay, it was a shame we weren't able to stay longer. It was our first time in Cartmel and we shall certainly be going again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very good boutique hotel, unpretentious, wonderful hosts! Incredibly clean bedrooms, which is something always appreciated. The only thing is there is no window in some bedrooms which is a little unsettling if not used to it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asheya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying at the Priory Hotel based on trip advisor reviews and it surpassed my expectations.

Shortly after I checked in I realised that I'd left my toothbrush at home. I asked one of the staff if there was anywhere I could buy a toothbrush. The response was 'I'll go and buy one for you, is there any particular type that you would like?". I sat and had a coffee and about 10 minutes later I was told the toothbrush was in my room.

Throughout my stay the staff could not have been more helpful.

The bed was really comfortable and the room was lovely. A perfect place to stay

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Articulate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Mega thanks to Julie Gary Stephen and staff for what was a brilliant New Years Eve at The Priory Hotel. The meal was excellent (an absolute credit to Dave Burrow the chef). The service and friendliness of the whole staff was second to none. The firework display that they put on at midnight was enjoyed by not only their customers but by all the people who came and collected on the Square to break in the New year. Well done to you all, your hard work made for a super evening so that other people could enjoy the celebrations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great hotel. Lovely room. Friendly staff.
When we checked in, the room was a little cold. I mentioned this and immediately they boosted the heating. We couldn't have wished for a better response.
Our particular room (room 1) had no windows, which was a shame, but as it was almost dark when we arrived, and we were gone for 10 AM, it didnt effect the quality of our stay.
The hotel has its own car park, which is a huge bonus in Cartmel, where parking can be hard to find.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 15 in Cartmel
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greenbank Farm B&B
Greenbank Farm B&B
#7 of 15 in Cartmel
54 reviews
1.9 mi away
Broughton House
Broughton House
#1 of 15 in Cartmel
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel Cartmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel Cartmel

Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range: $100 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Priory Hotel Cartmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Priory Hotel Cartmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Cartmel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing