We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream of a place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Priory Hotel Cartmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Ranked #5 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A dream of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was lucky enough to visit this hotel with friends recently. My room was palatial, the welcome warm but not too in your face. A brilliant place that I hope to revisit.

The furniture is of good quality, cleanliness great without being clinical.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FufkinJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    41
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
114
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

A group of us took over all the rooms here this weekend so I ended up seeing the interior of 3/4 of them in total. All looked very comfortable with plenty of space. Mine in particular on the top floor seemed impressively huge.

Service was second to none - everyone very polite and welcoming. Smiles all over the place. And location-wise, we were 30 seconds walk from restaurants/pubs/shops/parking etc.

Can't fault it.

Room Tip: I was in Room 6 on the top floor - very spacious but up two flights of stairs (in case this is a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Delighted to recommend this hotel. Luxurious rooms, delicious breakfasts, beautiful building. Outstandingly helpful and friendly owners and very good value for money. Location-wise you can't really get better either. If you can book a room then snap it up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngusFrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cartmel Races may be an infrequent entry in the turf calendar but that's no reason to overlook this little Lakeland village and its historic Priory -- and absolutely not to forego a visit to this recently renewed and refurbished hotel: it's a genuine class-act winner.

We're not that familiar with Cartmel and, oddly enough, whichever local authority or tourist board operates in this area seems not to want to cater to visitor needs: there's no plaque or any other form of info on the wonderful (presumably medieval) gatehouse through whose arch one drives into Cartmel's little square, and nothing at all, either, on the stonework in the centre of that square -- but then, who cares about tourists, huh? Obviously, not English regional Tourist Boards. . .

Well, at least the Priory Hotel does care. We hadn't a clue where to go for lunch in a village where umpteen choices exist, but chose The Priory because it looked bright and fresh and -- a clincher -- an amiable member of staff (we never did catch her name) was smiling at us from the doorstep, so-ooo. . .

OK, a bar snack is a bar snack and on the face of it isn't the stuff from which reviews are made. But on this occasion, not only did the food impress but so did the environment, too: a truly welcoming lounge bar, small yet constricted, big comfy armchairs, and a decor which cleverly integrates yesteryear with today, stylish without being gratingly modernistic. Free wifi as well, though only if you're a BT Broadband customer, otherwise logging into this BT Openzone facility is expensive -- the hotel would be better advised to discard the Openzone hook-up altogether and just allow an open-access router.

Elsewhere, attention to detail is evident throughout (nice loos, etc) and pretty evident in the way customers are looked after, too: the young lady employee whose name we never knew proved to be a charming and attentive host, a real asset to this hotel, As for our lunch, we were pretty much stuffed full after merely consuming bacon and sausage rolls, so what a major three course dinner is like here can only be (pleasurably) imagined.

Thoroughly recommended, then: a small hotel in a small village but one that's big on style, value and customer service -- definitely, a winner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priory H, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing to pop into our hotel and for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your meal, only wish we had made you aware of our wi-fi domain 'Priory', which is completely free.
Unfortunately, the one you hooked up to was from a neighbouring property.
Now we realise the need to make a conscious effort to inform customers of this in the future, so thank you, and hope you get the opportunity to visit us again.
Kindest regards.
Stephen Broadhurst - Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from a short break in Cartmel and whilst we didn't stay at the Priory we did enjoy dinner there last night. REALLY ENJOYED!! The warmth and friendliness we received was exceptional. The food was excellent and my request for a choice of something not on the evening menu was arranged with no fuss. Special mention goes to Mikale who is a fine example of the Priory outstanding customer service. Would not hesitate to recommend and indeed would choose to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DysonsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is very well presented and the room was ab fab. Great fluffy towels and a large comfy bed. The staff are sooo helpful and attentive. The breakfast was lovely, with a choice of pastres and fruit and then a cooked english! Would stay here again and intend to. Well done Priory!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle&Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Called here for a nightcap a couple of times at the end of August whilst self catering and was made to feel really welcome by both staff and owner.Went back this weekend as guests. Lovely place - staff are really pleasant and helpful and the place is immaculately maintained and decorated to a very high standard. The room we had, whilst a little dark, boasted a fantastic huge light and airy bathroom, which more than made up for it, and included lovely special little touches (fluffy towels, soaps, hand gels / hand cream etc). Food was excellent (both evening meal and breakfast) - no room for a pud after the starter and main meal and when compared with other places within the local area gave more than excellent value for money. Will certainly go back again.

Julie & Patrick Williamson (near Leeds)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickwilliamson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.6 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel Cartmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel Cartmel

Property: Priory Hotel Cartmel
Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Priory Hotel Cartmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Priory Hotel Cartmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Cartmel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing