We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Unpretentious Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect Unpretentious Hospitality”
Reviewed September 4, 2010

From the moment you arrive there is excellent and unpretentious service - the cheerful greeting on arrival, the offer to help with suitcases etc. , swift and helpful attendance in the elegant dining room and at breakfast. A good menu with suffiicient choice.
Very comfortable beds with (praise be!) sheets and blankets in lieu of the dreaded ubiquitous duvet (though these are available if preferred).
A strong shower, though for some guests a possible shortcoming might be the bijou size of the bathroom.
All this is overseen by an omnipresent , truly professional but friendly, host- what more could the discerning traveller want?
and you have close to perfect hospitality

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tynwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    41
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
170
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel has been lovingly restored by its owners to provide guests with an authentic country house experience. The house and gardens are immaculate, beds are comfortable and the care and attention of the staff unmatched in my experience. Having booked the restaurant for our first evening we were not tempted further afield for the remainder of our stay. The menu was varied and the quality of the food and cuisine were excellent. I would recommend this hotel as a base from which to enjoy the South Lakelands and to anyone wishing to enjoy the tranquil surroundings of a well run and comfortable home from home.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalogal619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed over the May Bank holiday weekend for our honeymoon. Our room (12) was spacious with a beautiful view over the countryside. The owners had obviously noted when we booked some months earlier that it was our honeymoon, as they had placed a lovely wedding card and a bottle of cava (on ice) in our room for our arrival (an unexpected and really nice touch). We had already booked an evening meal at the manor and we would advise other guests to do the same as it proved to be excellent value and exquisite food. The service was outstanding.The hotel is only a short 15 minute walk to Cartmel along the road. The owners were warm and friendly (as were the staff) and made it feel like home from home. The opulent dining room is decorated very classically as were the lounges which provided for a lovely ambience in which to chat with other guests.
All-in-all a perfect place for a quite break with lovely surroundings inside and out and wonderful hosts and staff. Fully deserving of 5 stars all round. We will be back, maybe for our first anniversary (if we can wait that long!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_n_Tre_LeJevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a pleasant week-end break at the Aynsome Manor Hotel, located close to the lovely village of Cartmel. A chance to relax, re-charge, and enjoy the beauty of our country in the winter-time attracted us to this gem of a country house hotel. The standard of service and persona attention was simply the best we have ever experienced. The owners, Mr & Mrs Varley succeeded in providing us with caring, professional yet unobtrusive attention to our needs. Their staff, likewise, appeared genuinely interested in ensuring we were well looked-after. One test of an excellent hotel is the standard of it's breakfasts. My ideal is an hotel that offers porridge, manx kippers, and smoked haddock (smoked, not dyed) as well as the standard bacon, sausage, eggs, etc. This hotel passed that test with flying colours. Much of the food is locally sourced, of high quality, and very well served by Mr Varley and his team. Dinners likewise were beautifully prepared, served, and absolutely delicious. The ground floor lounge has a real fire, comfortable easy chairs and settees, a lovely old grandfather clock whose 'tick-tock' makes you feel you are in a true, traditional country house hotel - which of course you are. Mr & Mrs Varley have, in my opinion, found the secret of providing the best standard of service in any hotel in which we have stayed. It is not the prettiest, nor the most modern, nor the most ostentatious hotel but it is probably the best country house hotel with traditional timeless values of hospitality and service we have ever stayed in. Thank you Mr & Mrs Varley, and your superb staff for providing the standards most others can only dream of. My advice to potential guests - visit this hotel as soon as you can - and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pardoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Spent two delightful evenings at Aynsome. Very warm welcome and dog friendly. Lovely spacious room overlooking the garden and fells. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice from local sourced produce.

We walked over a couple of fields into the village (about 15 mins max) into Cartmell and enjoyed most delicious fresh and creative food at Rogan's restaurant in the centre of Cartmell. Dog friendly downstairs in the restaurant - we thoroughly enjoyed it!


The cavendish Arms is also dog friendly and serves piccolos of Verve Clique - perfect for a hot balmy August night.

Thank you Aynsome for a lovely stay - the only slight criticism I have is that our stay would have been enhanced if dogs were allowed in your cosy bar.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiversideGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed for two nights in late July and were very impressed. The quality of this hotel, in particular the restaurant, is superb. At first you may find it difficult to find the hotel, however it is less than a mile from the beautiful village of Cartmel on Aynsome Lane .

Unusually, most bedrooms are at the back of the hotel, however my parents had a twin room (room 3) with a magnificent view over fields to Cartmel Priory in the distance. The dining room and first floor drawing room were added in the 1840s and have high ceilings and spectacular rural views.

Bedrooms are clean and comfortable and appear to be neither "modern" nor "country house flowers" which is actually quite refreshing! Beds were comfortable and the heating appears to work well and there was plenty of hot water. All rooms also have tea and coffee making facilities.

Dinner commences at around 7pm with drinks and menus in the small bar and entrance hall lounge. I had been worried that the hotel could be "stuffy" and require gentlemen to wear a tie - this is not the case - the atmosphere is relaxed and extremely comfortable. The menu changes daily and there is great emphasis on fresh local produce - fish and meat dishes are superb! The dining room is elegant with candles on the tables, polished crystal and silver.

Service at dinner is exactly the way it should be - staff work hard and are friendly and efficient. This hotel should be a compulsory training ground for staff in five star hotels!!! The bread was homemade, soup delicious and the wine list extensive. After dinner, coffee is seved in the first floor lounge and we were delighted with the chef's homemade chocolate truffles and strawberries dipped in chocolate.

All of the guests seemed to love their stay at Aynsome and I can see why many keep returning again and again. The food is so good, you almost feel obliged to go for a walk up the lane after dinner!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstaple
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Wonderful traditional hotel, food excellent and very attentive staff. proprietors charming and professional. Plentiful seating in the lounges. Set in lovely countryside with distant views of Cartmel Priory

We would strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diplodelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
388 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
973 reviews
11.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
489 reviews
7.6 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
4.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynsome Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynsome Manor Hotel

Property: Aynsome Manor Hotel
Address: Aynsome Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynsome Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Manor House situated 0.5 north of historic Cartmel village.Set in open meadowland overlooking 12c Cartmel Priory.Comfortable & relaxing atmosphere,offering the highest standards of service & Country House cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aynsome Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynsome Manor Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing