We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimately relaxing with excellent food, service and comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ultimately relaxing with excellent food, service and comfort.”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Have always experienced superb food, service and company (whether away with friends or on our own). Stayed in most rooms (including the cottage) over the years and each has it's own charm. Some are bigger than others though all very comfortable. Regular refurbishment and decor has maintained the elegance and enjoyment of this beautiful manor house. The menu is varied and is always excellent (I always leave having gained a few pounds!).
Great location, easy to access walks and huge variety of amenities from here. Beautiful quiet surrounding where having a great view is only the icing on the cake. So relaxing and a great place to de-stress. Thing I like least like is that time seems to go so quickly here! Can't wait for till my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottishsprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    41
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
170
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend, in a twin room. Easily the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, and I have youth hostelled! There was no bath in the (tiny) bathroom, only a shower. We asked to move to a room with a bath but there was no room. They offered to provide a shower cap instead! The door between the bathroom and bedroom was frosted glass (I suspect to make the space look bigger) so also quite embarrassing if not sharing as a couple. The window was so tiny so it was difficult to cool the room down. It also faces what I think were the staff quarters and on one night we were woken up in the early hours by a moped going round and round repeatedly on gravel. Not what visitors come to the Lakes for! Decor a little tired and communal areas never smelt fresh or well-aired.

The good bits: the location is wonderful and the building itself is amazing, as is the food. The management seem like lovely, genuine people although the service is a little obsequious at times. The best cooked breakfast in living memory.

I would recommend this hotel for food (especially breakfast!) but suggest that you avoid room 6. I would also choose the Sunday lunch over the buffet dinner in the evening (which I think is the chef's night off). The food is poor compared to other evenings, but I expect their margin is healthier! To be fair, many of the other guests were return visitors, but it was not a place that I will be rushing back to.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Bollinger4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aynsomemanor, Owner at Aynsome Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Dear Bollinger4ever

Thank you for taking the time to review Aynsome Manor Hotel. I am sorry and disappointed that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.
We are very " hands on" and approachable owners who would have been pleased to resolve any issues at the time, if only they had been mentioned.
The hotel was full over this particular period and we were not able to offer an alternative room, but, nevertheless, any comments positive or critical are taken very seriously.
I am grateful for your kind comments concerning the food, building, location, management team and "best breakfast ever" but "the moped on the gravel in the small hours" shall remain for ever a mystery to us.!
One final comment, if I may, your assertion "not nearly as good as these reviews suggest" is rather patronising to the other reviewers and their comments.

Christopher Varley.
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

This is the second time we have visited- we had fond memories of the friendliness of the owners and staff and remembered that the food was great but had forgotten why it was so good. Another reviewer has put that it's unpretentious- and it is- that's what makes you feel so comfortable but the quality is wonderful.. Cartmel's a great location. We had the cottage which housed our dogs as well- if you have got dogs and want to take them away - the cottage being separate to the hotel gives you piece of mind that if the dogs hear a rabbit or such in the dead of the night that their bark won't wake all the other guests- also when you need to take them out in the early morning it's easy to put your coat over your PJ's to take them for a walk - we'll be returning soon? Any room's available for Easter??

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rwbbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We were in a group of 12 couples and had the hotel to ourselves. Lovely setting, true to its period although the bedrooms could do with better decor and fabrics as they looked a little worn and tired. A beautiful dining room which we were served an excellent choice both at dinner and at breakfast.
You are a short walk from the centre of Cartmel and the Priory with a choice of excellent pubs and village shops.
Would definetly go back even though our bed was extreamely uncomfortable. We did tell reception and they put a duvet over the mattress which helped a little.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsdandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We were only able to stay one night (Saturday) but wish we could have stayed longer. An excellent hotel, great freshly cooked breakfast, brisk service (if required) and friendly staff. Didnt have dinner here as we went into Cartmel for the evening. Twin room was large, very clean, well equipped with everything you could need and fresh milk for tea! I requested a shower and we had one with a great "batcave" loo!(see photo). I'm not sure it will be the kind of hotel that bright young things would like but this grumpy old woman and man appreciated the comfortable surroundings. Also it was lovely and warm!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvertonsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Having honeymooned here 31 years ago and stayed with friends for several years after, my husband and I decided on a weekend break to enjoy the lakes and see how the hotel had changed.
We last stayed in the cottage 20 years ago and were shocked that the decor had not changed in that time, 70's curtains and bedspread, avocado bath, no shower and plastic flower arrangements and tiny bath towels.....In this day and age I expect nice fluffy bath sheets and internet facilities. We love nice furnishings and the hotel lounge is dire, apart from the view. Its a beautiful building and is just crying out for some updates!
On the plus side the food was excellent and the staff were courteous and pleasant, however the prospect of spending time in our room was depressing......the hotel needs a mega update in terms of decor, bedding and bathrooms...
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SilverTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Friends who have stayed here 3 times recommended this hotel to us. We made our reservation about a month prior to our stay, which did mean that rooms with the best views were already taken (which the owners were at pains to point out when we booked). We found Aynsome Manor elegant and comfortable, and the lack of a lift was no problem as the wide, sweeping staircase has shallow treads. The staff were exceptionally friendly, and the food was quite excellent. There is a delightful village close by, and the scenery is beautiful. We look forward to a return visit, and have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutmeg1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
384 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
967 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
448 reviews
2.1 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
488 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynsome Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynsome Manor Hotel

Property: Aynsome Manor Hotel
Address: Aynsome Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynsome Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Manor House situated 0.5 north of historic Cartmel village.Set in open meadowland overlooking 12c Cartmel Priory.Comfortable & relaxing atmosphere,offering the highest standards of service & Country House cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Aynsome Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynsome Manor Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing