We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Uplands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uplands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We've just spent three nights at uplands. the weather was appalling but the stay was made by the excellent staff at uplands. would recommend staying here to anyone. we didn't book the Carvery (Friday's and Sundays) but wish we had as it looked fab. We booked on line and got a buy one get one free offer. So value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruceinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    116
    34
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
287
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The staff are great. However, the rooms are dated. Our room had a fantastic view from the window. The TV was unwatchable, unless you stood 2 feet infront of it.
Tea/Coffee making facility, but you have to unplug the TV to boil the kettle.
Needs a new shower, and just 1 of the 4 bathroom lights worked.
But the staff were great.
A bit Fawlty Towers, but worth a visit.
Can't praise teh staff highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay here. Paid for a larger room and got a fantastic view looking towards the sea. Breakfast was good and the staff were always friendly. It is within walking distance of the restaurants and pubs in Cartmel but it is down an unlit road so you would need a torch in winter.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Got home today after a 2 night stay at this fabulous hotel
Best room the Leven Suite good size with the most beautiful view over the bay
Easy to find coming from Grange turn right just before the pink building which is now a rest home but would have been a very elegant grand house in the past then just follow the road the house is on the right about a mile along there is a sign,watch out for it
Welcomed by Liam and Sarah and Joel the chef as the hotel serves a buffet lunch till 8 on a Sunday
After a lovely tasty breakfast freshly cooked by Sarah we had a great day out driving through beautiful countryside via Muncaster Castle(well worth a visit) eventually arriving at Whitehaven which has a lovely harbour,lots of shops most enjoyable
The autumnal colours are at their best at the moment and so many beautiful trees especially the gold ones and the red ones I am not an expert on the names of trees but appreciate their appearance especially at this time of year
On returning to the hotel we had a chat with Joel about dinner as I am a chicken fan he very kindly made me breast of chicken with a diane sauce with rice absolutely gorgeous
Eton mess was on the sweet menu but not liking raspberries I asked if he would add a banana instead which he did and added toffee sauce to the top WOW
The menu was excellent for everyone who eats all sorts of everything lots of choices for starters main and sweets I was very spoiled
Great value for money just ring the hotel and see what the best offer is only 6 bedrooms so very intimate lovely furnishings with a comfy pre dinner lounge and a well stocked bar
I would recommend this hotel and the surrounding area is well worth exploring
Thank you to all concerned looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Either room at the front of the hotel,the Leven room has a super kingsize bed which also coverts to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed last weekend. The service was excellent and friendly, especially Liam - nothing was too much trouble. We arrived late and we arrived to a feast of sandwiches. The chef; Joel was brilliant and the food was perfect - the creme brulee was cooked exactly right. We had the best carvery I've ever tasted. The room was spacious and clean and overlooked the gardens and Morecombe Bay and we both slept like logs . It is within a few miles of the lakes. We're booking again before Christmas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lymetreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during the summer and can honestly say it was fabulous. The staff was so welcoming and friendly and nothing a bother to them. We had dinner in the restaurant on the both nights and food was outstanding. Breakfast was yummy also! We had a lovely room overlooking the gardens at the front of the hotel. It was extremely spacious and immaculately clean. My only complaint was we were staying with a baby and the room only had a shower so she couldn't have her bath at night. But we didn't specify needing a bath on booking so our own fault.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel after a mix up at their sister hotel (see other review). It was excellent. The staff are all young but incredibly professional and friendly (especially Liam), the room (Winston or Winton!) was nice though on the small side, everything was clean and the only slight negative was the pressure of the shower (as mentioned in another review). We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was amazing. A varied menu and presentation and taste were fantastic. Service also extremely good again. It is in a lovely, quiet location with stunning views. Highly recommended and I hope to be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
988 reviews
1.5 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elton Guest House
Elton Guest House
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
63 reviews
12.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands Hotel

Property: Uplands Hotel
Address: Haggs Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uplands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just above the village of Cartmel, the Uplands Hotel & Restaurant offers stunning views of the local countryside and the Furness Peninsula. Originally a large residential house, the Hotel benefits from two acres of peaceful gardens which are perfect for walking your dogs, al fresco dining, summer sunbathing or just taking in the views. A large car park covered by CCTV security is also onsite. The hotel is in the ideal location for visiting South Lakeland and the stunning Cumbrian coast. It is also a top choice for those visiting local events such as the Cartmel Races, the Steam Gathering Festival and the many events held by Holker Hall to name but a few. Furthermore, as the hotel is only a short drive from the M6 Motorway guests travel comfortably from a range of locations between Scotland and London. For guests, there is a choice of five comfortable double bedrooms, two of which benefit from the stunning countryside views. All rooms feature a modern en-suite bathroom and Freeview Television as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Free WiFi is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Uplands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uplands Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing