We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cartmel Coach House”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bilbro4
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Please don't make our mistake and belive the other reviews.”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Sykes cottages must be hiding bad reviews as mine hasn't been published. Mould in porch greeted us, and more mould in the bathroom awaited our inspection. We understand that we should supply most things for a self catering holiday but only supplying one bin bag and one cleaning cloth seems a little bit tight, and then being asked to help out by stripping the bed before we left kind of started our holiday on a sour note. Also be prepared for other dog owners that allow their little friends to poo anywhere without cleaning up the mess, in the description of the property you are allowed two well behaved dogs, it should read two well behaved adults required to look after their pets.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheshireC...
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mis-sold by Sykes Cottages”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Mis-sold! Sykes Cottages rented me this cottage without warning of the barn renovation adjacent to the property. This affected the 3-day break for myself and my two dogs significantly. The building work, which started at 8 am, involved workers crossing in front of the cottage, vehicles parked immediately outside, as well as coming and going so that I was unable to tether my dogs outside safely. Access to the neighbouring fields (one of the reasons I chose the property) was blocked by the site and by the equipment - in itself a contravention of health and safety laws. The 'beautiful parkland' advertised on Sykes' web site was cancelled out by the eyesore that all this entailed. The cottage itself smelled of damp and smoke and the sofa and chairs are in dire need of replacement - old, stained and very uncomfortable. My letter of complaint to Sykes received a derisory response, offering an amount of compensation almost too embarrassing to quote (35 pounds!!) and a thanks for bringing the building work to their attention so that they could alert future customers. . . a standard useless response. My follow-up letter pointing out the woeful inadequacy of their reply was ignored. Shame on them. Hence resorting to Trip Advisor: at least people looking for a reliable, professional rental company will see that their hard-earned money is best spent elsewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Building site, mis-sold holiday, horrible dirty furniture
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clappersg...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Holiday with Fergus”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Wonderful setting , very good for our dog. Unfortunately the cottage has super potential , but needs some money spending on it especially a new mattress and a shower to be fitted. We booked through Sykes cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and ability to have our dog with us
Liked least: Mattress, lack of a shower, general need for improvement
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bolton
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing