We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Cottage with spectacular views”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JohnHome
home
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Idyllic Cottage with spectacular views”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Probably less than one mile from Cartmel. We have just returned from 3 nights in this cottage. The cottage was absolutely lovely. Open plan lounge with kitchen. Lovely fireplace, but fire not needed this weekend.Very comfortable large bed, and plenty of hot water in the bathroom. No trickling showers here. It was a cosy warm cottage a quarter of a mile from any traffic. Excellent car parking, dog heaven. We had 2 with us.
We intended to go out during the evening but the cottage was so welcoming we stayed in every night. During the days we visited Cartmel a couple of times, and Lake Windermere and Bowness, all an easy drive.
Fabulous dog walks from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe f
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat.”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely, peaceful and quiet place to stay with fantastic views. Me and my boyfriend loved it here with our two dogs. Other friendly people and their dogs stayed in the area. The only thing I would suggest is if you're not staying here for the Cartmel races then don't stay here. It is dearer to stay when the races are on and traveling to other places can take a long time due to the race goers and coaches, which is ridiculous to send through such small roads. Other than that it was a lovely break away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings.
Liked least: The sofa. The width of it is small and the large back cushions make it smaller so a little uncomfortable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie1234...
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage on beautiful farm in quaintest of settings”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We booked for two weeks as we needed a place to stay relocating to the area. As agreed before our arrival with Anthony, we found the key in the door. We turned on the spare heaters (it was cold outside!) and lit the lovely gas fire, unpacked and quickly settled in. The cottage is homely and well furnished. Some of the other cottages were being refurbished, it will be worth revisiting to stay in one of those when they are finished. Staff were very friendly and helpful when I needed some help with the washing machine. Cartmel is a lovely village (try the Sticky Toffee Pudding) and it was great to see racehorses training in the field early morning.. Brilliant stay - hope to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall experience
Liked least: kitchen could do with some updating I suppose
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cjrobbo61
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not recommend this place to my worst enemy”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The property is damp and dingy the smell was disgusting even the ambulance crew commented on the dampness as we had to call them out due to my wife having cardiomyopathy and the damp was making her ill. The decor was bad and the furniture was so outdated that the sofa was hard to sit on. We did complain to sykes cottages but they have taken the owners word for it that he denied all our complaints even though the ambulance crew backed our complaint up and sykes have refused to send anyone there to check it out no wonder they are leasing below standard properties

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Getting away from the smell of the cottage
Liked least: The damp
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Reviewed January 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing