We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch at Kings Arms but Royal Oak spoilt the day”
Review of Kings Arms

Kings Arms
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Cartmel
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An 18th Century Inn full of character, mixing contemporary furnishings with traditional decor, and real log fires.Great outside seating area overlooking the main Square in the village, fantastic for watching the world go by.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch at Kings Arms but Royal Oak spoilt the day”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited the Kings Arms on the 26th July after being told at the Royal Oak that we could not be served a round which included our 19 year old son and his friend, which was disappointing as we wanted to sIt by the river in the beer garden. Even after we told them his age they wouldn't serve us and we are not in the habit of lying and felt insulted. Anyway no problem at the Kings Arms, strange as both are owned by the same management!
The food we had was delicious, trio of game sausage, spicy chicken salad, steak pie and roast beef sandwich really good choice and one thing for everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    230
    115
    68
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cracking night!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited the Kings Arms the other night when classic rock band 'Tin Pan Alley' were playing. They rocked, and so did the pub. Awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich / Anglesey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just popped in for a quick drink and a light lunch and that's exactly what we got! Quick friendly (Welsh!) service, and a good platter of meats, bread and chutneys. Ideal !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Welshdoc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“super old worlde pub with fabulous menus and service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Travelled with friends to this pub staff were friendly and welcoming from the minute we put our foot through the door. The pub is lovely and cosy and would be wonderfull in the winter when the log fire is burning. We sat out in the garden the menu was extensive and portion sizes excellent as was the presentation of the food. staff throughout our stay were attentive and helpful would highly recommend a visit here

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bodrumgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent a happy couple of hours sat in the square of Cartmel at this lovely pub. The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. The drinks were reasonably priced. Definitely recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoubylouRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Arms also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing