We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, well presented and served” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cartmel Coffee

Cartmel Coffee
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cosy, friendly coffee shop in the centre of Cartmel. Serving home made cakes and scones, baked daily on the premises. We have a limited menu of freshly made sandwiches, a homemade soup of the day, hot 'brunch' menu. Eg smoked salon and scrambled eggs, etc. We sell take away cakes, sandwiches and our house blend teas and coffees. We have a selection of paintings by local artists and gifts made by local cottage industries.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value, well presented and served”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a super little cafe in Cartmel village square, itself very much worth a visit. Locals use it all the time. Simple straightforward food cooked with great care and served promptly. For example, mushrooms on toast sounds simple? Surely is, but this simple snack becomes a treat due to the quality of the ingredients. Coffee and tea are also special. Very reasonably priced, this is a little gem.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Apicius59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    73
    27
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lush coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Popped in for a coffee whilst waiting for a restaurant to open, right in middle of village and the coffee was to die for.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank butterflyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Expensive Coffee and Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The decor is a little sparse but the owners are friendly and the food we had was delicious, the best mushrooms on toast I have ever had and my partner said it was the best bacon with his poached eggs and the eggs were perfect too. The coffee is expensive but most coffees are in the Lake District. You will not be disappointed eating here and the deserts looked out of this world.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice owners but GREAT Latte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This placed served my wife & I with the best Latte I've every had, they also had a great variety of Teas, Coffees & snacks, we shared a toasted Ham,Cheese & Tomato, very nice, the owners were very friendly & gave us hints & tips on the area & were was good to eat, all very nice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank spotbot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The best long black outside of New Zealand! So good we had 2 cups each. Lovely freshly baked scones & very friendly service. We'll be back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cartmel Coffee also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Cartmel Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing