We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly place”
Review of The Masons Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We called in on our way up to windemere for lunch. I enquired at the Bar if they STILL allowed dogs in the bar area as we had taken our two dogs in previously. The expression on the womans face was a picture You would have thought I had insulted her. Certainly not she said so we left. Get yourselves sorted out Masons its a buyers market

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chesh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for The Masons Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 291 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This used to be one of the best pubs in the area. The food was dependably good and reasonably priced. OK, they always went up in the summer when the grockles are about. However, this summer's food was dreadful and very expensive. I would be surprised if anyone went twice. The end of the year was little better, we had an extremely poor meal in November, when asked how the food was, we told the staff, to be given a £5 off voucher to be spent before the end of Feb - nothing special, available to everyone! We thoguht it might be becaus ethe Landlord didn't seem to be about on either of these occasions. So, when the family came we thought we'd give it another try - what a mistake. The table was great but it was difficult to find anything on the menu which tempted the appetite. 2 small pieces of fish int he fish pie, and no meat on the lamb shank. The wine wasn't great, all in all a great disappointment.

Room Tip: Didn't stay only ate there
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahJo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having read the reviews we had high expectations which were exceeded on every level.
The rooms were fantastic. We stayed in the Cartmel Fell suite and loved the kitchen and lounge area as well as the huge bed and the views across the fell. All very tastefully decorated and well maintained. The food was excellent especially the duck starter. All the staff were really friendly and genuine.

This is by far the best place I have stayed in the UK.

Room Tip: Cartmell Fell has a private terrace to fully appreciate those lovely views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizziSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A lovely pub, with fantastic views. We ordered drinks at the bar a pint of guiness and a coke, the coke was fine, but please don't pull a pint of guiness in one, it has to be poured in two parts, this can take two to three minutes, no rush. If it's not poured like this, it doesn't taste right. Not the barmaids fault, she should have been trained better. We ordered lunch, leaving a debit card behind the bar. The food arrived quick, which normally unnerves me. But couldn't fault it, very nice. Paid bill cash, when asked for card back, barman looked at me like it was his. To sum it up great place, good food, staff young and need better training.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damos76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked for Christmas lunch in Spring 2012 and were so looking forward to our 'special' Christmas lunch. The staff were extremely amateur. We had informed the pub well in advance that we were vegetarian but were offered fish as a canape. The staff were not aware of this - really?! When they exchanged this for a vege option we were told that the chef had 'especially' whipped this up for us last minute - even though we had informed the pub WELL in advance. The rest of the food was mediocre - and that is being generous - we couldn't cut the roast potatoes and the sprouts were not recogniseable! for £60 a head(!!!!) we would have expected more. Our table was tiny and crammed in. One of the many waitresses that served us asked us how the meal was and I said that the meal was disappointing, she said she "would inform the chef" - we never heard anything furher. Definitely will NEVER be going back. Spent the rest of our lovely holiday in the Hare and Hounds down the road at Bowland Bridge and will definitely be going back there over years to come with their gorgeous food and welcoming staff. Sorry - but I am actually being kind with my comments here believe it or not.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here because it was mentioned in an article I read that it was the Good Pub Guide's "North West Pub of the Year 2012". So we expected excellence and that is what we got from beginning to end.

The staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. Whether it was showing you to your room, helping to set up your Wifi, or suggesting a place to go, nothing was too much trouble.

However, for me, the piece de resistance of the Masons Arms is the large black range in the bar area which looks as though it has been there for hundreds of years and emanates such a relaxing, gentle heat that it had me "nodding" in no time. Lo and behold, go into the Snug next door and there's a mini range that also looks as if its been there since the year dot!

Although there are no "airs and graces" to be found I must say I've had worse food in expensive restaurants. We stayed for two days and had intended to go out for a meal on the second night but with the warm and cosy atmosphere coupled with the food quality we'd experienced on the first night we stopped where we were and were pleased we did. By the way, the "house red" is very drinkable.

We were in the Bowland Bridge suite and it was charming with the bedroom upstairs and the kitchen / seating area downstairs. It enjoys an excellent view east towards the limestone escarpement of Whitbarrow Scar, to which we enjoyed an exhilarating walk (three and a half hours round trip).

I tried three different real ales whilst there and couldn't fault any, believe me I'm not shy to complain if there's reason. They were all in top condition. We shall return.

Two tips: 1/ Even if you're coming from the north, take the southern route into the Lakes. From J36 of M6 take the A590, then the A5074, after about 8 miles turn left (signed Bowland Bridge). 2/ Take your breakfast with you - the rooms have kitchens and they don't serve breakfast until 10am.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrambler334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

When ever we visit the Lake District we always call in. Awkward to find even with the aid of a map and a satnav. Easiest way is to find Bowland Bridge and then drive uphill..Atmosphere, food, drink and staff are top notch. On nice days, the tables outside have it all plus the view. On cold days, the tables inside have it all plus roaring fires to keep you warm. A bonus is that dogs are not allowed inside, so you are able to eat without a possibly smelly dog close by ( Yes we are dog lovers, but not when eating)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,133 reviews
7.3 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Address: Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cartmel
Price Range: $41 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel
The Masons Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing