We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cartmel Priory

Cartmel Priory
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: beautiful mediaeval church
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We got there just before the volunteers were closing up for the day but a lovely lady told us everything you could need to know and pointed us in the direction of the highlights. I loved the priory, wish I could have spent longer there. Packed full of history and in very good condition. There were exhibits dotted around which were interesting. The volunteer was the main highlight, she was eager to make sure we knew what we were looking at and considering she probably gives her time for free there, I thought it was touching that she had that much enthusiasm.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    143
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A gem of a priory”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Well worth checking out this gem hidden away in Cartmel ... but it's structure can be seen for miles away on the fells. You know when you see this that Cartmel isn't far away.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique Priory church in beautiful village”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

If you are at all interested in the Dissolution of the Monasteries,architecture,profound stillness or wonderful atmosphere,go to Cartmel Priory then trek around the village including the Gatehouse expo. Surpringly, at L'Enclume you have a world class restaurant nearby (bargain taster meals, expensive but wonderful multi course)

Helpful?
Thank Apicius59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Locals are on hand to tell true stories from the 1st century - we visited at 10.30pm on the way back from the pub and it was still quite busy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianeandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a place, Not to be missed, Well worth a visit!!! I am not a church person, but would visit this one again and again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boxerhouse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cartmel Priory also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 

Been to Cartmel Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing