We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property
The gorgeous Shed at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The gorgeous Shed at night
A bifold door open day!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The gorgeous Shed at night
A bifold door open day!
View to the village
Kingsize bed in the mezzanine
View through the bifold doors
Christmas at The Shed
Walks from the door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susanvc24
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed August 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights at May Bank Holiday Weekend and its by far the most fabulous place we have ever stayed. Rachel has done a fantastic job on creating this amazing accommodation and we had a wonderful, relaxing, comfortable stay. The Old Roller Shed has everything you could wish for and more from a self-catering accomodation which gives you the freedom to do whatever you wish. The cooking facilities are great but there are also plenty of lovely places to eat out in Cartmel Village and the surrounding area. Rachel goes out of her way to make sure everything is just perfect for you even providing a few little extras to make your stay perfect. We were there for the race meetings for 2 days and a spot of walking for 2 days and we were not disappointed by anything. Cartmel is a lovely village in a great location for exploring the countryside. We loved it so much we have already booked for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2018
Thank you Susan for such a fabulous review - it really makes me happy to know you’ve loved it as much as I do. Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktlevs
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“10/10 - the most amazing place”
Reviewed May 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I cannot stress enough how much we enjoyed our stay at the shed. Rachel was so lovely and bought us some little goodies for when we arrived. Everything was well thought out and the actual shed itself was beautifully designed and so cosy. It was a 1 minute walk into Carmel Village which had some great pubs and boutique shops. Would definitely recommend for a weekend away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2018
Really lovely to meet you both and so pleased you had a great stay. I look forward to seeing you back at The Shed again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abroadalo...
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“5 Star accommodation for 2”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Our second stay at The Roller Shed in Cartmel and once again completely faultless. Rachel goes out of her way to ensure the accommodation is kept to a 5 star standard and also assists in any little surprises you need during your stay. The Shed has everything you need for a relaxing stay and is literally a 5 minute walk in to the village of Cartmel with a variety of bars and restaurants including L’enclume. Cartmel is an ideal base in which to explore the rest of the Lake District.
Thanks again Rachel and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Thanks so much Rob and Cath. Come back soon! Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camper735...
1 review
“Superb Break location”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A wonderful find in a fabulous location. The accommodation is 5* plus, Rachel has thought of everything you need for a relaxing stay, with great attention to detail. The old roller shed has been stylishly furnished throughout. The little extras were a lovely surprise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2017
Thanks for the fantastic review Malcolm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami_Hunt1...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully refurbished studio apartment for two”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Old Roller Shed in September 2017. Situated close to the centre of Cartmel, the apartment has everything you could possibly need -and more - for a stay in the South Lakes.

Rachel has refurbished 'The Shed' to an incredibly high standard and it features a beautiful modern and stylish kitchen, comfortable sitting area, sleek shower room with luxurious drench shower (all with excellent under-floor heating) and a cosy bedroom on the mezzanine level.

Rachel was super-helpful and prompt in all our correspondence with her and really friendly on our arrival. The welcome pack is really generous with plenty of tea and coffee, local cheese and crackers, milk, beer and prosecco in the fridge.

We loved the Old Roller Shed and would definitely recommend it as a base in the area. We will definitely be visiting again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. See you both again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passport4...
1 review
“Excellent modern refurbished shed Perfct for two”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed for three nights - very comfy modern accommodation with a nice welcome of food and drink after a long journey. Cartmel is a very sweet and quiet village buy with some excellent restaurants and pubs. Unlike some of the other towns near the lakes it didn't feel over run with tourists or cars even at the height of the season / just the pleasant sound of bleating sheep and hourly priory bells. Recommended hugely

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing