We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THE BEST HOLIDAY COTTAGE WE HAVE STAYED IN”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JOHNMOR10...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“THE BEST HOLIDAY COTTAGE WE HAVE STAYED IN”
Reviewed May 25, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The quiet location, beautifully appointed and looked after, with a private sun trap patio, has made Bluebell cottage the best we have stayed in.
The peace and quiet, comfy bed, together with the sea air, have given us some of the best nights sleep for a long while.
The car has felt a bit neglected. We have sat on the patio with a glass of wine, watching that many goldfinches that sit on the fence. We have enjoyed watching the parachutes from the local airfield (no it is not noisy).

It is an ideal base for walks around the Leven estuary and the Cartel Peninsula but also within easy reach of the more popular areas of the lakes by car,and nearby train and boat.

The property is in the most dog friendly area, (shops /Pubs/ local residents), we have been to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

This is an excellent,well equipped,cosy property.Spotless and welcoming in all weathers. Easy access to all southern lakeland with the small village having a train station,shop,two pubs and an artisan bakery providing breakfast and late opening for hand made pizza at the weekend. Thank you Neil and Alison for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJStwix
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent homely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely three days visiting family and friends, using Bluebell as our base. Owners have gone to a lot of trouble to make it comfortable and homely. Lots of local information provided for those new to the area. Lovely quiet village location with lots of walking options straight from the cottage. Would highly recommend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, fabulous break!”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We've just returned home after a wk in Bluebell Cottage and what a lovely cottage it is! It was just the right size for a family of 4 & was well furnished including a fully stocked kitchen which meant we had the option to eat in as well as out during the wk. Even the dog was well catered for with a dogs bed and even a dog towel!

The local area was also lovely. Within walking distance there are a couple of pubs that serve good food and a local artisan bakery which we visited practically every morning. There's also lots of good dog walks within walking distance (such as the grounds of Holker Hall). We also visted some of the local villages such as Cartmel and Ulverstone. The kids also loved exploring the nearby beaches and woodlands but especially enjoyed Southlakes zoo (which is surprisingly cheap & not too busy this time of year).

Overall its been such a relaxing and refreshing break that we're already looking at when we can next book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing