We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming rural cottage with amazing views!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Broughton-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KWhiteBuc...
Bucks
2 reviews
“Charming rural cottage with amazing views!”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Genuinely lovely old cottage based on a working farm with sheep roaming right next to the cottage. The hot tub was great and if we had any issues/questions the owners would help straight away as they live right next door. There was plenty of room in the cottage as well, the bedrooms were a good size and the rooms downstairs were also well proportioned. The cottage is reasonably equipped in that you have most things you would need for a week away. There were a few negatives re this cottage in that the decor inside is looking a little tired and the place could have be cleaner in certain areas. Also the children's play area that is mentioned in the advert no longer exists. Something else that is not correct from the cottage advert is that it states that there is camping on site that cannot be seen from the cottage, however there are actually 2 campsites and the larger of the 2 is right next door to the cottage in and the access gate for it is right next to the cottage front door. I appreciate that our last night was going into a bank holiday so it may have been busier than normal but there were people arriving in motor homes and on noisy motorbikes until late into the evening which kept waking our 2 year old who was upstairs trying to sleep. The washing facilities for the campers is down by the entrance to the farm so all the campers have to walk past the cottage to get to these, so there was a constant stream of people walking past which made the cottage feel less private as they can see into the kitchen, lounge, front bathroom and garden. Had we have known this it may have influenced our decision to book this cottage as we go away in this country for piece and quiet and there is a certain amount of noise from the campsite at all hours (woken by camper dragging large water bottle at 05.30hrs back to campsite from washing facilities). Saying this the cottage and its location are lovely, would have just appreciated some warning re the campsite so we could make an informed decision!

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malcolm r
BIRMINGHAM
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant....”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Loved this from the minute we arrived...
Beautiful old Farmhouse, set on a working farm, unimpeded views of the Cumbrian countryside, lovely hosts who couldn't have been more helpful, woodburner, beams, a farmhouse kitchen, huge hot tub and starry starry nights.....
We sat round the farmhouse kitchen table like the Waltons at mealtimes, it was brilliant. The house was cosy with the log burner on full tilt, Christmas Tree lit and exposed wooden beams oozing with history. 4 good sized bedrooms decorated in a sort of Bronte fashion overlooked the countryside and the farm's ivy-framed stone railway arch in the grounds, looking like something out of a Tolkien novel. Never see the family so chilled [except when we told the kids it was haunted -nearly backfired that one] Loved it, loved it, loved it.....
so thank you Louise.....

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbooob
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a large family gathering and this was the perfect place.
We arrived very early unplanned but things were worked out for us. Would love to take the kids back next year.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laila S
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful spot to stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked this cottage last minute and I'm so glad it was available!
We stayed for two nights, four adults and four young kids. The cottage is right on the farm which the kids loved, it also had a small play area out front and an amazing view.
Can't fault the cottage at all, plenty of space, two bathrooms and loads of room in all the bedrooms.
Didn't really notice when booking but there is a hot tub in the garden, brilliant fun for the adults when we got the kids to bed :)
Louise the owner was helpful but left us to it.
Hopefully one day we will be back, it was a great place to getaway from the city for a couple of nights and Broughton in Furness was a lovely small town to visit and Moss Side Farm is a great base for exploring the rest of the lakes x

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TessBates
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect in Every Way.......”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From arrival to departure, I could not have been more happy with this holiday rental. The cottage has 4 large and comfortable bedrooms, two large bathrooms, the lounge with its views over the fells and countryside is just so uplifting at any time of day (but especially and sunrise). The lounge had bundles of charm, warmth and space to just kick back and relax. The log burner was put to very good use as was the kitchen and all it had to offer. The back walled garden was very secure and quite large and our collie had many a happy play date out there with our family. The farm is delightful, Louise was quite possibly the nicest, most helpful and informative owner I have had the pleasure of meeting and look forward to meeting again when I booked his cottage for next year but for 2 weeks instead on just one as I need more time to soak up the beauty and tranquility I experienced this week. The village of Boughton has everything you could need from Bakers, Butchers, Post Office, Pub and Cafe (with WIFI) to name a few. So please if you want a fabulous holiday just click on this cottage and well enjoy. Regards Theresa Bates

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardingP...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lakes trip”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a long weekend at moss side cottage broughton in furness.
Me and my family had a wonderful time,we cannot fault the hospitality from louise and her sister
The cottage is spacious and brilliant just to unwind and relax.
Would highly recommend to friends and family and deffenately visiting again.
Currell family

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage with amazing Views”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage 19th-21st September 2014, we were a party of 3 couples, a 4 month old baby and a dog. Louise was a brilliant host, she was there if we needed anything but left us to relax in the cottage as if it was our own home. The cottage is very large and ideal for a large family or a few friends wanting a special break away. It is in an ideal location, not far from the lakes and only a 20 min walk into Broughton in Furness. The cottage is well equipped and has an amazing spa bath! Our only downside was that we would of loved to stay here for longer as enjoyed it so much! I would recommend this cottage 100% and would definitely not hesitate to stay here again!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing