We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful break”
other travelers have booked this property
Lowfield (guest accommodation on left hand side)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lowfield (guest accommodation on left hand side)
Lowfield Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Lowfield (guest accommodation on left hand side)
Lowfield
Dining area
Living area
Living area showing kitchenette
Kitchenette detail
Bedroom
Bathroom
Relax in the sunny sitting out area
Apple tree blossom at Lowfield
Summer window box colour at Lowfield
St. Mary's Magdalene Church from Lowfield
Lowfield garden
Field adjoining Lowfield
View from garden at Lowfield toward Duddon Estuary
Tarn Hows in winter - one of our favourite walks
Rock-climbing in the Lake District - one of many activities available!
In the nearby Duddon Valley
Lake District view -  the central Lakes are easily accessible from Lowfield
Coniston Water - less than a 30 minute drive from Lowfield to see this view...
Take a scenic cruise on Coniston Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broughton-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul R
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful break ”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Spent a week at the cottage which we found peaceful and quiet even though it is in a busy village. Annette our host was very helpful and the little extras she provided were very much appreciated. The cottage was very warm and cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your week at Lowfield and found the accommodation comfortable. It was nice to chat with you both and to hear how your walks locally and further afield had gone. It is always rewarding to have such appreciative guests staying and I look forward to possibly welcoming you again to the south Lakes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but room for improvement”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for four night in this accommodation. After struggling to find the rental we decided to call the owner who gave great directions over the phone. Perhaps a map could be sent to customers? We just managed to squeeze our car down the side street, which wasn't pleasant. Ideally a heads up on this would of been ideal. We encountered lots of small roads, but this was on another level all together .

However after finding the rental we had a quick tour by the owner. Strangely this started by being told not to open the door too wide. There had been some flooding damage in the winter which had broken the front door. I'm unsure why this hasn't been fixed as its not safe and we were actually locked in during our last morning and had to climb out of the lower part of the door. This needs to be fixed ASAP, along with the damp in the living room, which I assume happened at the same time.

The living room is well appointed, but could do with a more comfortable sofa. This is especially needed after a longs days walking. The kitchen area was very nice and modern. As was the bathroom.

The bedroom is of a small size, but we coped for our short stay.

We struggled with the wifi the whole time and did bring this up with the owner, but it was never fixed. It's worth pointing out that there is absolutely no signal in the rental. Which can be nice to get away from social media, but we like to let family know we have arrived safely.

Each morning we were woken by the owners upstairs, but this cannot be avoided in old houses.

This is a nice stay for a budget price, however with a few improvements (some more costly than others) the rental could be amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at Lowfield. However, I am sorry that you had some issues, including difficulty in finding the accommodation. Detailed directions are e-mailed to guests and, if these are followed correctly, there should no problem in finding the turning for Lowfield. Although you would have liked advance warning of the small approach road, the pre-arrival information sent to all guests clearly states that Lowfield is accessed by “an unmarked narrow lane” while our advertising also indicates the nature of the access (e.g. TripAdvisor listing says “Conveniently located in one of the Lake District's most attractive market towns, the accommodation enjoys a sunny aspect with rural views at the end of a quiet lane. Please note that this lane is not accessible by large vans or motorhomes.”)
The problem with the front door which you mention does not date back to the winter. As I explained on your arrival, the door had swollen following several days of heavy rain in July. Although it still opened and closed easily, the door could not be pushed back fully to the inside wall. With the accommodation solidly booked until the end of September, it would not be practical to remove and re-fit the door. However, the entrance remains perfectly safe to use. I am surprised to learn that you were “locked” in on the morning of your departure. I was on hand and this was not brought to my attention while the guests who arrived the same weekend did not report any problem using the door.
As standard broadband speed in our area is very slow, the accommodation is not advertised as having internet. But, as a service to our guests, free wi-fi via a booster is provided in the evenings. Generally it works okay so I am sorry in this case it did not. Mobile signal reception is not great anywhere in our village. However, depending on their service provider, most guests can pick up a signal by standing just outside the accommodation. Also, although many visitors like being able to “get away” from it all, our landline can be used if required.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis Ar...
Diksmuide, Belgium
2 reviews
“Our stay was too short”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We found Lowfield a very clean, well equipped and comfortable cottage. On arrival Andrew was more than helpful. The village of Broughton -in - Furness, which is only a five minute stroll, has more than enough amenities to satisfy even the most discerning of travellers. The cottage is ideal for a couple who wish to get away from it all and spend a few quiet days in the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity of the village and the quietness.
Liked least: The parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Near to the fells and mountains - ideal for walking,
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Lowfield and that you found the accommodation clean and comfortable. It was great that you got a lot of hill walking done too. I look forward to possibly welcoming you both back so that you can tick some more mountains on your list!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped the cottage is.
Liked least: Nothing, although Internet provision might have been nice.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2015
I am delighted that you found Lowfield an ideal place to celebrate your wedding anniversary. It was lovely to meet you both and I am glad that you had a good time exploring the local area and also enjoyed a celebratory evening meal at Beswicks restaurant in the village. I look forward to possibly welcoming you back in the future...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fatboyfoo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My partner and I booked this property for a long weekend, we chose it because it looked cosy and the village of Broughton sounded like somewhere we wanted to be. Neither disappointed, the cottage owner is lovely and made us feel really welcome, all the basic breakfast ingredients were provided for a couple of days and there is a 4 ring hob, oven and microwave if you want to cook in the evening. Bedding and towels are provided, you just need your clothes! The village itself has 3 decent pubs with a 4th up the hill. All different, our favourite was the Manor Arms which doesn't serve food but does have some decent real ale and friendly staff and customers. There is a food based pub and restaurant, but we used the butchers and cooked ourselves. For a 30 min walk, or 10 min cycle, you can visit the Prince Of Wales pub in Foxfield. Their home made pasties are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2015
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you found Lowfield cosy and comfortable. It's great that you and your partner enjoyed trying out Broughton's four local pubs - it can be difficult picking a favourite!

Look out for the Beer and Bangers Festival in October - a really popular annual event with the opportunity to try selected beers teamed with some tasty sausages. In 2012 a Guinness World Record was actually set in Broughton-in-Furness for the world’s largest Cumberland sausage ring - it weighed a whopping 135 kgs and measured 3.3 metres in diameter...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing