We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage with stunning views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sturdy Bank Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The garden with extensive views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The garden with extensive views
The spacious and warm living space
Kitchen/ dining area with doors out to the garden
View from the property
View from the property
View from the hill behind the barn, looking towards the Duddon estuary
View from the hill behind the barn, the barn roof can be seen in the centre of the photo
View from the hill behind the barn towards the Duddon estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Broughton-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RushikaR
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Spent the Easter weekend at Sturdy Bank Barn and absolutely loved it. Lindsay and John were wonderful hosts and we felt extremely welcome. The location is stunning and the house has been well designed to appreciate the gorgeous views. The house is modern and very clean.
We would definitely love to come and stay here again soon!
Thank you!

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope you will come again soon. We would be so grateful if you would post this review on our Facebook page - thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamiJo27
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location of Sturdy Barn is an ideal base for getting around the Lakes; we visited Bowness, Ambleside, Coniston, Grizedale and Ulverston.
The barn itself is lovely, there isn't anything that hasn't been thought of, and was more than comfortable for me and my 4 children (9,10,13 and 14)
Lindsay and John, are very hospitable; the scones were delicious and even helped me out when I got a flat tyre - thanks.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay. We were glad to be able to help you out with your car troubles.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its surroundings
Liked least: The rain!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fab stay by us all. Property is fantastic, views outstanding. All mod cons and all that you need. Owners are lovely and helpful. Would recommend to friends.

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
835rhiann...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great house with everything you could need!”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Strudy bank barn with our three kids - aged 20, 15 and 6. There was plenty of room in this spacious, modern barn conversion. Homemade scones awaited us on arrival, and the house had all mod cons and everything you could want from a laundry room to dry off all those wet through clothes from walks, a wood burner, wifi...everything! The views are amazing and we were given great advise as to places to visit and things to do from the owners. A short ramble over a style takes you to a great wood, or it's just a short drive to Broughton which has the third best bakery in the UK - What more could you want?

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
You were great guests - thanks for doing two loads of washing before you left. That has never happened before! So glasd you loved the house and made such good use of it. We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathrine...
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mini break with friends”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Sturdy Bank after our wedding in October with some Australian friends who were over for the wedding. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who had baked us some heart shaped scones with jam and cream as a welcome!
The house itself was stunning. The views were amazing and it was everything it promised.
It was well heated which was good for me as a cold blooded being and had plenty of space. The house was very clean and felt immediately like home.
The owners lived next door and were incredibly friendly and accommodating.
Our Australian friends loved being able to go for a walk in the morning and that we were so close to the beauty of the Lake District.
Overall our mini honeymoon was just as we had hoped thanks to Sturdy Bank Farm and its owners.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place was beautiful
Liked least: Not the easiest place to find
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
The feelings were mutual - we loved hosting Cathrine and friends and were so happy to receive a lovely bunch of flowers as they were leaving. We hope we will see them again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing