We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting, great house with everything...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sturdy Bank Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The garden with extensive views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The garden with extensive views
The spacious and warm living space
Kitchen/ dining area with doors out to the garden
View from the property
View from the property
View from the hill behind the barn, looking towards the Duddon estuary
View from the hill behind the barn, the barn roof can be seen in the centre of the photo
View from the hill behind the barn towards the Duddon estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Broughton-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
835rhiann...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great house with everything you could need!”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Strudy bank barn with our three kids - aged 20, 15 and 6. There was plenty of room in this spacious, modern barn conversion. Homemade scones awaited us on arrival, and the house had all mod cons and everything you could want from a laundry room to dry off all those wet through clothes from walks, a wood burner, wifi...everything! The views are amazing and we were given great advise as to places to visit and things to do from the owners. A short ramble over a style takes you to a great wood, or it's just a short drive to Broughton which has the third best bakery in the UK - What more could you want?

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
You were great guests - thanks for doing two loads of washing before you left. That has never happened before! So glasd you loved the house and made such good use of it. We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathrine...
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mini break with friends”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Sturdy Bank after our wedding in October with some Australian friends who were over for the wedding. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who had baked us some heart shaped scones with jam and cream as a welcome!
The house itself was stunning. The views were amazing and it was everything it promised.
It was well heated which was good for me as a cold blooded being and had plenty of space. The house was very clean and felt immediately like home.
The owners lived next door and were incredibly friendly and accommodating.
Our Australian friends loved being able to go for a walk in the morning and that we were so close to the beauty of the Lake District.
Overall our mini honeymoon was just as we had hoped thanks to Sturdy Bank Farm and its owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place was beautiful
Liked least: Not the easiest place to find
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
The feelings were mutual - we loved hosting Cathrine and friends and were so happy to receive a lovely bunch of flowers as they were leaving. We hope we will see them again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

An absolutely lovely house with a breathtaking view.
Clean, nicely decorated and very functional. BBQ and terrace in front of dining area.
Lindsay and John are charming hosts.
The area around Coniston is very nice to visit with lots to do.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyenM
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place with a great view”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay here from start to finish. The owners were very kind and welcoming. The rental was perfectly clean and comfortable, and the view was amazing. My family from the US were visiting me here in the UK and it was the perfect place to take them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityflowe...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful property in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Positioned on the southern edge of the Lake District National Park this lovely place is great for exploring the southern lakes and mountains, as well as the western coastline. There is so much to do and explore you'll need weeks, not days, and Sturdy Bank Barn is the perfect property to base yourself. We absolutely loved this modern conversion, an architectural delight, with it's full-height windows offering the most amazing views from both the kitchen/diner and the sitting room.
The house is spacious. very well equipped with three comfortable bedrooms. As well as having a lovely clean modern feeling, it is also cosy and welcoming after a day's walking.
The owners, who live next door, were welcoming and friendly and are generally around if you need to ask them anything.
We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing