We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cock is back”
Review of The Black Cock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Cock Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Cock is back”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

After one of the worst experiences of my life last year with the previous management team I am pleased to announce the Cock is back!!

Great management team in Andrew & Stacey with superb beers well kept and served as real ales should be!

The food was of a standard which some of the best hotels would envy, well prepared well presented and all at excellent value!

It was a pleasure to enjoy on the 3 occasions we visited this weekend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crinklecrags95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    43
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
42
57
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went on a Saturday evening to propose to my partner. The staff were amazing, the kitchen staff even helped me out by putting the ring on the top of my partners last course. This aside the food was amazing. I had a steak which was so tender, my partner the surf and turf( she didn't complain).
This was our first visit it will not be the last.

Room Tip: You would be mad to pass this Inn by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andhpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, England
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Spur of the moment decision to go for a meal, myself, partner and 2 daughters (3years. and 8month). It was busy with a party in on friday night but the service was excellent staff extremely polite and helpful even providing our oldest with a picture and some colours to keep her amused when the food came it was hot well presented and tasted as good as it sounded.. brilliant. Dessert just finished it off perfect again well presented and of top quality. WILL return again soon thanks to all staff

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gav1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverham
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I didn't stay in The Black Cock - we just drank and ate. We knew it was our kind of pub when we entered. The beer was well kept, well served and after a few - well I never. The guys serving were good at their tasks, well mannered and sociable. I loved the protection for the beer drinkers by having a food free tap room. Hang on to it folks. We then turned to the food. There was a great choice on the menu. We ordered and were served in good time. The quality was excellent and the quantity plentiful. It was encouraging to see a proper pub well run by what appeared to be a very young team. We had a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m4microlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staying here whilst doing a couple of Lake District walks. The room is decent enough for the price, very spacious and all amenities. The pub downstairs serves up nice food (had steak and chips) and one thing has stood out, which is how polite and tentative the staff are. Pat on the back to Beth and the lad behind the bar.

Room Tip: Watch your head if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

On our return from the lakes, we called for a lovely meal. The staff were friendly and very attentive at the right times. The food and beer was excellent and the inn had a wonderful friendly atmosphere. We were alittle put off by the outside appearance, but dont let the cover put you off. Of all the places in the Lakes, this was by far the best alrounder. J and E on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the black cock for two nights whilst we were catering for a wedding at the Victory Hall in Broughton. After a days hard work prepping for the following day we really wanted to relax and unwind. As soon as I walked in I knew it was going to be my kind of place. A proper cumbrian pub complete with low ceilings with twisted beams, the fantastic smells of home cooked food coming from the kitchen and a welcoming & friendly atmosphere. Our steak dinner was brilliant, with a perfectly cooked Tysons steak from the butcher accross the road, both the real ale and the Rioja were the perfect accompaniment. The staff were really friendly and even though we arrived 1 minute before the kitchen closed the staff and the chef were only too happy to serve us. Our room was quite small (but the room we booked for our staff was massive) but it was very comfortable, very clean but without the clinical sterility of some big chain hotels. After a very comfortable night we went down for one of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel! Perfect, tasty and obviously very good quality Cumberland sausage! The second night was very much the same story, good ale and great food as well staff who could not do enough for you. Overall, if your looking for a relaxed, great quality, traditional English pub with a really friendly atmosphere, I don't think you can get better than this!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossendale_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broughton-in-Furness
11.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
340 reviews
11.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
259 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 2 in Kirkby in Furness
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
3.1 mi away
Brockwood Hall
Brockwood Hall
#1 of 3 in Millom
313 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#3 of 14 in Millom
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Cock Inn

Property: The Black Cock Inn
Address: Princes Street, Broughton-in-Furness LA20 6HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Cock Inn stands in the heart of an attractive small market town of Broughton in Furness, within easy reach of some of the Lake District's finest scenery. The 16th Century Inn has low beamed ceilings, an open fire to sit around on those cold days and which provide wonderful traditional ambiance. There is always a selection of real ales and lagers on offer, and we serve locally sourced food lunch and dinner. We have 5 en suite letting bedrooms which boast of an'olde worlde' charm. We also have a secluded 'beer garden' which is a haven for those nice summer days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Black Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Cock Hotel Broughton-In-Furness
The Black Cock Inn Broughton-In-Furness, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing