We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food and very friendly waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Kings Head

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Broughton-in-Furness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Kings Head
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food and very friendly waiter”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

we hadn't booked so when we arrived we where informed there was a table however our food may take sometime which was ok with us as we had just arrived in village for 5 day break over the newyear,after 5 minutes the lovely waiter took our order and the food was on the table within half an hour,we all had sunday lunches which where very tasty i would be happy to eat there again.
Everyone in village very welcoming and friendly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellymcternanwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
12
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We paid the Old Kings Head a quick visit during the Broughton Beer Festival. We had a very enjoyable meal of loacally produced Cumberland sausages with some good chips. Perhaps may have been better served on a plate rather than plastic "basket".
We naturally tried a couple of the ales and both were in reasonable condition.
It is a real shame that this old pub has had an inconsistent past so we wish the current managers and staff the very best of luck.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beesleg201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

we booked to stay here on fri and sat night for a weekend away. on arrival, they immediately took the money off us for the room. not cheap either. a rather scruffy, unfriendly man showed us to our room through corridors of wedged open fire doors. our room cannot have been more than 10 foot square and this included an 'ensuite'. the ensuite just managed to house a wash basin, shower and toilet but very dark and dismall. the bed was only a 4 foot bed which is classed as a 3/4 bed with linen that looked very dowdy. the sockets available were on an extension lead and the tv out of the ark. it had an old sash window with paint flaking off and cracked glass and not stay to open it. we overlooked an old shabby garage and the back yard of the pub. very disappointing. we ask for our money back and left. not recommended at all. very expensive compared to other beautiful hotels in the area.

Room Tip: no good room. only have 3/4 beds. only fit for contractors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susancater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went in Thursday last with a group of friends the food and food service was good!! The big let down was the beer had to take 3 pints back all off also the people on the next table were also complaining about the beer!!

"Must do better"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crinklecrags95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

stopped off here last week after a shop wife wife and two girls and was again very happy we all had warm beef sandwiches with side salad and chips beef was superb and tender and onion gravy was just superb chips were more like small roast tatties but were very nice wife and girls finished with white chocolate cheese cake with cream which they all gave two thumbs up they left nothing and the extra presention they but in to dress it up with side sauce showed they cared about there work congrats to the chefs brillant easy the best eating place in broughton hands down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenhambly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walney Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped off at the Old Kings Head having heard really good reviews about the food & service but were a bit dissapointed with the meal which was a lunchtime snack of toasties. The let down came in that the toast was well overdone around the edges and some good bread had been burned. The fillings were excellent quality and the meat plentiful and could not be faulted - shame about the bread!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walney-Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were staying nearby in Millom & after self catering we felt like we needed a slap up pub tea on our last night. I'd looked at their website & thought it looked quite nice so we turned up at 5pm on Thursday & received a friendly & warm welcome. We ate from the early bird menu which was excellent value at £9.95 for two courses & not the usual small early bird sized portions. I had fish & chips, delicious & my husband had the upside down steak & ale pie which I only just managed to taste before it disappeared as it was gorgeous. Our little ones both had a perfect childs size fish & chips & then polished off a tub of clotted cream ice cream, all for a fiver per child.

The staff were friendly & chatty & the log fire completed the cosy factor. It was really family friendly without being too "wacky warehouse". I would highly recommend this pub if you are anyway nearby & Broughton in Furness is such a lovely little town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broughton-in-Furness
8.6 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
235 reviews
9.6 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
672 reviews
8.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
108 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
311 reviews
14.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kings Head

Property: Old Kings Head
Address: Church Street, Broughton-in-Furness LA20 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broughton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kings Head is a beautiful old English pub, with a large bar area and dining room. Games area including a pool table and dart board, Large Beer garden with in built BBQ and stage. 5 en-suit Bedrooms: 1 twin room, 1 family room, 1 single room and 2 Double. Most weekends we supply live music, once a month we hold a pub quiz and Thursday evenings we have a themed menu! Opening Times: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 12:00 until 23:30. Friday and Saturday: 12:00 until Late. Food Service: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday: 12:00-16:00, 18:00- 21:00 Sunday: 12:00-20:00 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Kings Head Hotel Broughton-In-Furness
Old Kings Head Broughton-In-Furness, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing