We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cosy pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Cock Inn

The Black Cock Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Black Cock Inn Broughton In Furness Is A Lovely Low Beamed Country Pub In The Historical Town Of Broughton In Furness, Serving Locally Sourced Fresh Food, real ales wines beers alcoholic beverages & minerals. Consisting of 5 en-suite rooms, Sports Bar ,Pool Table ,Juke Box, Fruit Machine ,T.V, Beer Garden, real log fire, We Are A Family Friendly pub and give a warm welcome to all.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A cosy pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The welcome we received at the black cock inn was great. A large selection of traditional pub food was offered and although we had a little wait when the food arrived it was tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aandp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    68
    12
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pub food as it should be !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent food. Meat and potato pie, burgers with bacon & onion rings and chicken goujons. All freshly prepared and homemade with delicious chips. Pity we were only passing on way to Cartmel Races as return visit would be on the cards if we had been staying local. Recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jandl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood lancs.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly service but a bit variable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good friendly service but the food can vary a little. We've had very good food and barely good food, perhaps depends on who is in the kitchen. Good choice of real ales and a friendly welcome from the landlord Trevor,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BEESLEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant in Broughton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

There was a decent choice from both menu and extensive specials board. We enjoyed what we received and would go again. It was a Tuesday night so relatively quiet but there were enough people there to not be too quiet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

burgers on brown rolls!
kids bol pasta / hot chilli veg pasta delivered instead!
Curry nice but hard nann bread
Liver enjoyable

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Cock Inn also viewed

Broughton Mills, Duddon Valley
Broughton-in-Furness, Duddon Valley
 
Broughton-in-Furness, Duddon Valley
Broughton-in-Furness, Duddon Valley
 
Broughton-in-Furness, Duddon Valley
Millom, Lake District
 

Been to The Black Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing