We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Press trip success”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The High Cross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton-in-Furness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The High Cross Inn
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Press trip success”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I recently organised a two day press trip for one of my PR clients involving bringing 11 trade press editors up to Broughton. We used a selection of hotels and guest houses in the area to accommodate our guests, but the trip centred around the High Cross Inn where we entertained the editors. The food on both nights was superb, high quality and plenty of it, and they made sure we had plenty of choice of menu on both nights. The service was also excellent with nothing being too much trouble for the landlady Angie and her staff. I'd have no hesitation in recommending the High Cross Inn for business or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
20
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

family run, warm welcome, great views, lovely food. informal. bar and food from 5pm was going to stay one night, but like it so much im still there as i write this (3nights)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keef4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2011

What a great place to have a wonderful wedding. We had book the High Cross for our wedding in September hoping for great weather but unfortunately it didn't stop raining all day and night. The food was absolutely gorgeous and went down a treat with all of our guests, we didn't have the traditional sit down meal we opted for a hot and cold buffet which Angie the owner accommodated very well in helping us to decide what to have. We also decided not to have wine either but kopperberg cider instead. If you want a very relaxed wedding reception like ours then choose the High cross.We had 135 people to the reception and Angie had put a marquee up at the front of the hotel to accommodate everyone and decorated the tables with flowers and confetti. We had Sharrons balloons from Millom and got our wedding cake from Scuptious in Ulverston who also delivered to the High Cross. We certainly recommend The High Cross for weddings and parties with excellent views and comfortable rooms.
Thank you so much to Angie and her team.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 118steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulverston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Called in for lunch with family. Friendly staff, service average, nobody checked to see if our lunch was ok and plates weren't cleared away until after we left, - weren't offered desserts but I guess we could have gone back to the bar to ask for them. Limited, basic menu but freshly prepared and tasty - nothing fancy but we were only looking for a bite to eat. Wonderful weather so we sat outside and admired the fantastic views - would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24queenstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I've known this place for many years and it's in better hands now than it has ever been. Mine Host Angie, just two years in residence, is driving forward various improvements with remarkable energy and dedication. It is an ideal base for parties of up to 10 or so visiting the Lakes for walking/cycling etc. Situated on the hill above Broughton in Furness, it is comfortable, welcoming and reasonably priced. The centre of the village is a five minute walk away. The bar is traditional and atmospheric and there is always a fine choice of cask ales. On a recent visit one of our party asked for a particular single malt which was not available, but by the next evening, it was on the shelf. The dining room is an absolute delight, a light and airy conservatory, just through from the bar, and the view is to die for. Food and location compliment each other, both of the same high standard. On a summer evening, stroll out to the patio for your after dinner fag to enjoy the views and the breeze coming up from the Duddon half a mile below. Bliss!. I wish Angie and all her delightful staff every success. They deserve it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NedontheHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Staff were lovely and very friendly. Room was clean and comfortable but the "en-sute shower room" was more like a cupboard and far too small. It was ok for one night but wouldn't like to think i had to use it for more than one night. Food was really good and certainly value for money, the only thing letting ti down was the fact there was a hair in the pastry of one of our dishes. The waitress apologised and said she would notify management but no-one came out to speak to us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodrog1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Arrived at 20:30 wanting an Evening meal - Bar was quiet and Cook was clearing up ( meals finished at 21:00 ) - but they were very quick / keen to offer food.

Excellent Ham and Eggs + Real Home made Chicken and Ham pie, Local Cheeses for Desrt and washed down with an excellent pint.
Would thoroughly recommend - and it's convenient on the main road through the South of the Lakes

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The High Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Cross Inn

Property: The High Cross Inn
Address: Broughton-in-Furness LA20 6ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The High Cross Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Coaching Inn with Open Fire and Conservatory Restaurant with Magical Food & Spectacular Views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The High Cross Inn Broughton-In-Furness, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing